BrendaLovesArti
Member Since 2018
Hello to everyone!
I introduced myself a couple of weeks ago but we wanted to wait a bit before posting here, although we have been looking at many posts in this forum.
I want to share a bit of our story so far and also start with the warning that we obviously haven't been following any of the methods shared in the forum as we are trying to work with an endocrinologist, so we are compromising with his view.
Artemisa was diagnosed at the end of August at the local vet practice. Since her glycemia value at diagnosis was in the 200s they first told us us to change her diet to dry diabetic food and control her rations to make her lose weight (she was 5.5kg and obese, she's quite a small cat) to see if that made it better. 10 days later she stopped finishing her daily ration and seemed more lethargic, so we took her to the vet and her BG was in the 300s. They started her on Humulin N twice a day after that. We had it done at the vet's so obviously she was a bit more stressed, having to travel every day. She also lost 0.5kg during this 15/17 days.
After one week we consulted with a vet endocrinologist and he told us to change to Lantus and start doing everything at home, which made us very happy. Problem is he told us to give her only one shot per day during 10 days (while adjusting her dose). This is where we compromised, even though we knew for most cats it's necessary to shoot twice a day. He also told us to get an abdominal ultrasound, which came out mostly OK (you can check the results on the spreadsheet).
She seemed much better during this time but she lost an additional 0.5kg, keeps drinking and peeing a lot. And as you can see her BG values were kind of all over.
Last week we saw him again and he finally told us to start giving her two shots a day! But starting from the current dose at the moment. So he told us to give 3U in the morning and 2U at night.
We haven't been doing for long but we notice that her values vary a lot (even after starting with two shots a day). Also, her BG at night hasn't gone down so much.
Is this normal? Is it possible that we skipped the right dose and she's bouncing? Should we start all over giving her 1U twice a day?
How long does it take for cats to have stable values? / adjust the dose?
Also, should we free feed her instead of giving her a fixed ration? We are not happy with the speed at which she's been losing weight.
I know changing her food will probably help but they don't sell any good wet food in our country, from what I've been told. I think we will try a homemade, raw food diet starting from next month but for now this is what we can do.
Thanks to everyone in advance!
I introduced myself a couple of weeks ago but we wanted to wait a bit before posting here, although we have been looking at many posts in this forum.
I want to share a bit of our story so far and also start with the warning that we obviously haven't been following any of the methods shared in the forum as we are trying to work with an endocrinologist, so we are compromising with his view.
Artemisa was diagnosed at the end of August at the local vet practice. Since her glycemia value at diagnosis was in the 200s they first told us us to change her diet to dry diabetic food and control her rations to make her lose weight (she was 5.5kg and obese, she's quite a small cat) to see if that made it better. 10 days later she stopped finishing her daily ration and seemed more lethargic, so we took her to the vet and her BG was in the 300s. They started her on Humulin N twice a day after that. We had it done at the vet's so obviously she was a bit more stressed, having to travel every day. She also lost 0.5kg during this 15/17 days.
After one week we consulted with a vet endocrinologist and he told us to change to Lantus and start doing everything at home, which made us very happy. Problem is he told us to give her only one shot per day during 10 days (while adjusting her dose). This is where we compromised, even though we knew for most cats it's necessary to shoot twice a day. He also told us to get an abdominal ultrasound, which came out mostly OK (you can check the results on the spreadsheet).
She seemed much better during this time but she lost an additional 0.5kg, keeps drinking and peeing a lot. And as you can see her BG values were kind of all over.
Last week we saw him again and he finally told us to start giving her two shots a day! But starting from the current dose at the moment. So he told us to give 3U in the morning and 2U at night.
We haven't been doing for long but we notice that her values vary a lot (even after starting with two shots a day). Also, her BG at night hasn't gone down so much.
Is this normal? Is it possible that we skipped the right dose and she's bouncing? Should we start all over giving her 1U twice a day?
How long does it take for cats to have stable values? / adjust the dose?
Also, should we free feed her instead of giving her a fixed ration? We are not happy with the speed at which she's been losing weight.
I know changing her food will probably help but they don't sell any good wet food in our country, from what I've been told. I think we will try a homemade, raw food diet starting from next month but for now this is what we can do.
Thanks to everyone in advance!
Last edited: