BG the same since +8 (total of 4 hours?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Very Active Member
Hi Everyone,

Since 2 days Baco's dose was increased to 0.50. She's doing better I can tell from her #.
But what I find strange, is that today her # are the same since +8 until just now pmps (257). Is that even possible? is there an explanation for that? Or is this pure coincidence?
 
It can happen. Usually though, with ProZinc, the numbers start higher and by mid cycle or nadir, they are lower and then back up again for PMPS making a smile. I do like that she is out of the pinks and into the yellows. Let's see what tonight's cycle brings.
 
I also like the fact that she is out of the pinks. But it is not someting we should take for granted... because she has also showed us that after PMPS she goes up again (what is really confusing) :woot:
 
I also like the fact that she is out of the pinks. But it is not someting we should take for granted... because she has also showed us that after PMPS she goes up again (what is really confusing) :woot:
Most cats go down in PM but for a while there it was Bubba's highest cycle. Cats. Where is the scratching head icon, LOL
 
Well i'm going to agree with you Sue, love the surf effect! Hopefully we'll see some blue # now after her shot! That would be even greater! Fingers crossed :cool:
 
Hello guys.. Baco is not smiling (as prozinc usually does) but she's surfing down... she's at +4 now and has given me a 203.
If you look at her SS, she's doing great! she's not really going up, and she's not dropping really hard, but still is dropping, so I've got a question because this might be the case...
Tomorrow morning, at AMPS, what if she gives me a blue #... I don't feel comfortable to give her 0.50 knowing what kind of drops she might make (see past cycles) so I wanted to ask this now, because if this might occure, I don't know what to do..
And if she gives me a yellow number, we've discussed that I'd give her 0.40, so that's fine.. but I want to know what to do when I get (awesome) blue ones :cool:
 
The lowest you have given insulin is 238 on 5/8. And that data is pretty old. I think, if you get under 200, stall and retest. If you can monitor, and she is climbing and at least 180, maybe 0.2? When moving into unknown territory, I always think it's wise to err on the low side.
 
The lowest you have given insulin is 238 on 5/8
That's correct, but that was PM so when i'm home (at PM) and she is lower than normally, than i'm not afraid because I'm there to give her food if she needs it when she drops too low.

I can't monitor her AM'S tomorrow, until friday because I have to work. I can stall and retest, but just for so long because I have to go to work. Usually I give Baco (and Minnie) 1 hour. She gets tested, gets food and then her shot. If everything is going well I do this all in 20 minutes. If not I have left 40 minutes,, So what if she doesn't go up quick enough? than don't give her her shot?
I'm just a little scared that if this pushes through (these nice numbers) and I give her 0.50 when she is just above 200 that when I'm gone she will drop low (what's she's done a lot of times in the past).
So what do you recommend if she is just a little above 200? (with the thought that I can't monitor her?)
 
I'm not nervous to give her 0.20. That would be fine. For the record, that is only if she get's blue # right?
And if she get's yellow ones, around 200 I will give her 0.30 or 0.40 (depending on how much she's near the 200.)

Haha no I wasn't thinking about this AT ALL a month ago!
She is doing wonderfull today. She is now at +4 and gave me 211. That's a 8 points more than +3, but it is nothing so we are all good!

Well let's not get our hopes up to much for AMPS because it could be a real big posibilty that she will be back in her purple #, like she always is.

I'm going to sleep now, have to wake up in 6 hours, so I will update you all in about 7 hours how she's doing and what the big AMPS # is!!

Have a good day, and goodnight to me :bighug:
 
Unfortunately her amps is 364, a pink one again.. Don't get it how it just went up that fast in 6 hours...
I will give her 0.50 again this morning.
 
I know that's disappointing but look at your SS. If you kind of zoom out and just look at the colors, sometimes that helps. Baco currently has more yellow than a few days ago...so something is working! We can always look at going up again in a few cycles if this dose doesn't bring her as low as we hope BUT...something is working. :)
 
Hey Rachel, yes I know! I always zoom out and look at her colors and they are mostly yellows so she is doing much better than before! And yet again today she is slowly going down, just like yesterday!
I'm home because there was someting wrong with my car so I had to take it to the garage and leave it there. So i'm working from home now. Better for me so I can monitor Baco ;)
 
@Rachel @Sue and Oliver (GA) @Robin&BB @Bobbie And Bubba I have a question for you. On the dutch forum they aren't that excited about Baco's # and are saying that they are too high. They are suggesting me to increase her dose to 0.75.
I'm a little scared to do t hat, 1 because i'm not around during the AM cycles to monitor her, due to work. and 2 is because it's a big increase, 0.25 and I think I've read that you better be save than sorry so increasing with tiny steps is better?
I would like to hear your opinion about it.. I can increase her dose to 0.60 or something like that? or should I just stick with the 0.50 for this week?
 
Last edited:
Thanks Sue. I can monitor her this PM and try the 0.60 dose? What do you think of that increase?
0.10 increase isn't that high I feel.. I don't feel that nervous about a change like that, but you know, I will always feel nervous when I leave the house knowing Baco's has insulin in her body... It's something I need to learn to let go but that process is hard because I just started 6 weeks ago with this.

BTW: I've got the new job!!!!! they called me just now :D It makes me sooooo happy! I start July first!
 
Congrats on the new job!!!Sue is right you have to be comfortable with the increases especially since you are not around to monitor. Will you have any time off between the two jobs where you would have a stretch of days that you could gather more data ?
 
Thanks so much Bobbie!
Well, next week I will resign from my current job, I want to wait until I get my new contract in my hands you know before I resign. So that will be beginning of next week.
Then here in the Netherlands you have to resign with a minimum of 1 month. So if I resign next week, then I've got 6 weeks left of work.. I still got 2 weeks of holiday so i'm hoping my current boss will let me take them in the last 2 weeks of June.. But that's something I can't say for sure. Hopefully I will get the last 2 weeks of June off so I can give all my attention to Baco and focus on getting her in those 2 weeks on the perfect dose.... that would be awesome! But let's not get ahead of ourselves... my boss/work can be a real pain in the *ss (that's one of the reasons I wanted to leave) so maybe if the are feeling like being a *#@& than they won't let me get my 2 weeks off...
Just have to wait and see next week how they react..:nailbiting:
 
Ruby, I am SO HAPPY to hear you got the job!!! Congratulations!!!!!!:D:bighug: (And I agree with the comments made by Sue & Bobbie above, btw.;))
Here's hoping your soon-to-be "ex boss" will curb those PITA tendencies just long enough for you to have those 2 weeks of holiday time. (Sounds to me that since you're technically owed that holiday time time, she'll have to comply whether she likes it or not ...)
 
I had to look up PITA, haha but I know what you mean now ;)!
Well it's a HE (even worse) sooo we will see. My coworker had revealed today that she also is quiting the job (i knew that already) but the rest didn't. She got her 1 last week of June free So i don't hope because she is free then, I can't... We'll see. Well you know I earned those days, so it will be quite a weird if they don't give me my days off.
 
Last edited:
CONGRATS!!! Yay for a new job!!

Yes, you have to be comfortable. I think your plan for the increase is a good one. :)
 
Thanks so much Rachel! :bighug:

I'm excited to know what Baco's # will do these couple off days, but I'm not home at AM cycles so I can only monitor her PM's.
Hope this 0.60 will do so much more for her.. If not I will increase this weekend her dose to 0.70.

But i've got a question, she started (when she got 2 shots a day) with 1.0 each shot. That was clearly to much back then, and we went even lower to 0.35.
But now this shows that that was too low of a dose. How is it possible that her dose is going up now again? Is this because maybe back in the first weeks her body couldn't coop with the insulin the right way yet? and now her body can? So is that the reason I'm increasing her dose so much again? Or does this have a different reason I don't know of yet?
 
Remember that for cats, even small changes in insulin are a lot (since they are so much smaller than us). While 0.60 and 1 seem pretty close to each other, to a kitty, they are bigger changes.

It really could be anything. Don't be discouraged though. You're doing the right thing for Baco, and we'll get there. :)
 
Oh I'm aware that the dose change for a kitty is a really big change, because they are so much smaller then us.
I'm certainly not going to make huge steps with the increase of her insulin, "better be save then sorry right?!";) so step by step increasing with 0.05 or 0.10 is something I feel comfortable with each 3 cycles (if needed).

Don't be discouraged though. You're doing the right thing for Baco, and we'll get there. :)
I'm not feeling discouraged, but sometimes frustrated, because I see sheets from other kitties and they are just starting and are seeing already blue and green #, and Baco is still sticking to the purple and yellow ones (the majority of the time) But I guess she is just somewhat slower with this whole insulin thing....
 
Good morning Ruby. It is not uncommon when kitties first start on insulin that in the beginning they might see some good numbers on a smaller dose and then they start to require more. Because insulin is a hormone, the needs for the exogenous insulin we are giving them change. Try not to be frustrated about it ( I was frustrated but, telling you not to be, HA) The idea is to get them to a dose that keeps them in normal numbers and then reductions will start to happen. It is a process and you will go through many pairs of "patience pants"
 
The step by step increasing you described is perfect! :)

I know how it feels. I used to get very discouraged when I saw kitties arrive and go OTJ in a week. But remember, it's really that darn ECID thing. She is coming down. Sure, not as fast as we'd like, but her numbers are going slowly down. I think if we keep tinkering with the dose, we'll bring her down more.

On a side note, how is Baco FEELING? Other than just numbers (remember, they are more than just numbers!). Does she seem to feel better than when first diagnosed and before?

Have you checked out some other SS? If you look at the remission thread, check out the earlier parts of their SS. That will give you a good idea of where those kitties started and my guess is that some were in higher numbers. :)

We're here for you! We'll help you figure this out and I think Baco will start to come down more as we learn more about her!
 
Try not to be frustrated about it ( I was frustrated but, telling you not to be, HA)
haha I know I know, i'm trying my hardest! :cool: I've already gone through some patience pants!

The step by step increasing you described is perfect! :)
Thanks Rachel, I'm listening to everything you all are saying and considering everything and with all the information I make some dicisions and lay them out for you to see if my dicisions are good/bad.
She is for sure going down, but it's going slow.. so that's what I was concerned about but if you say that's not a problem then it's okay right!

I used to get very discouraged when I saw kitties arrive and go OTJ in a week. But remember, it's really that darn ECID thing
Well that is indeed what my feeling is,, it's a little bit of incomprehension from my side that some kitties get OTJ in a week and Baco is already 7 weeks on prozinc and I feel she's not doing so great (but I know she is) but not quick enough in my mind you know... You want your kitty to have resultes right away.. but like you said ECID:banghead:

On a side note, how is Baco FEELING? Other than just numbers
Baco is feeling much better. But I DO see that when her # are high ( 326 and up/ the higher pink ones) she is feeling more lazy, and will lay around a lot and doesn't answer me when I call her.
When she's at (288 and below) she's feeling much better, I've noticed that if she's around 247 +/- (11mmol and 14 mmol) she's feeling great! She's chatty again and wants to be with me all the time, like she normally did), she's really alert and wants to play, and wants to sit on my lap and cuddle with me.
But the best diffference I see, comparing the time when she was sick but I didn't know yet, she doesn't drink so much anymore and she doesn't pee that much anymore.
That is totally normal again. She used to drink 2 bowls of water a day (almost) and I had to clean the litterbox everyday with new litter. Now I only have to scoop out the poopies and they use the litterbox for at least 3 to 4 days instead of 1 day.
So that's really nice to see that that is going really well.

We're here for you! We'll help you figure this out and I think Baco will start to come down more as we learn more about her!
My vet is a sweet lady, but she doesn't know that much about the prozinc use because it's so new in The Netherlands.
So i'm so happy I found the Dutch forum and they re-directed me to you guys.
I couldn't have done this without you guys, I really feel like we are a 'diabetic' family here! People around me don't quite understand her condition and don't understand that I can't go out as much as I used to due to monitoring her and giving her shots... So I'm always happy to be on the forum to talk about it with you guys.
I really love this forum and you guys!
Thanks so much to have come on to this journey/adventure with me :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

@Sue and Oliver (GA)
@Bobbie And Bubba
@Robin&BB
@Rachel
@Sarah Smith
@BJM
 
Ruby,

I know it seems like it is a long process. But you have increased/decreased systemically based on whether you can monitor or not. That takes awhile. Any cycles (like the weekend) when you can monitor, then you have been more daring.

I don't know why she is sneaking back up in doses. There is so much we don't understand about this whole process and considering that we are dealing with a hormone, some much difference between each cat's body and the way they process it. But she is still getting tiny doses with tiny adjustments and in good ranges overall.

The good news is that she is in decent numbers; you adjust the dose regularly when it is safe (you can monitor). She will get there. :bighug:
 
Don't know what her AM cycle did today, but she gave me a 212 at +9. so that is really good. Will probably mean that her nadir was in her cool blues :cool::cool::cool::cool: (or maybe in the green ones)
If her PMPS is around the 212 should I still give her 0.60? Maybe that's a bit much then? or should I just stick to 0.60 for now. (ps, I can always monitor her PM cycle, due to the fact them I'm always almost every PM home)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top