The Admiral and Ashes
Member Since 2020
hi there. just needing to vent a tad, and ask if anyone else has this issue as often as we do.
schmit is so super sensitive to everything, especially tiny dosing changes. he swings wildly from crazy high to scary low. he begins to show "low bg symptoms" at a higher number than normal too. he begins to get a bit wobbly and just sort of off when he's anything below 80.
here's the story;
we figured out his crazy high numbers were from an unlisted ingredient in his treats. after switching to benito flakes instead he went from consistent 300-400's to 100's and below. the below 100's came out of nowhere though. he'd be above 100 and then wham! 60-50's! and they don't really correspond with his nadir. (which is nearer 8hrs than 6)
because he's so sensitive to the lower numbers we check his blood with 2 monitors if he dips to make sure the numbers are as close to correct as possible. his usual is relion premier and then the larger blood sample needed relion prime to compare. after a few consecutive nights setting the alarm at +6 to test him i decided to lower his dose from 2u to 1.8(ish) the very next test he was way back up in the high 300's!
today is the 4th day at 1.8 he went to sleep at 287 @+2 and he woke up 10hrs later with an amps of 75 with primer and 63 prime. it took high carb food 4 hours to raise him into the 90's and for him to act normal again. ( that's very unusual. ) the rest of the day he's back into the high 300's. his pmps was 365.
anyhow, i know lantus takes a few days to really show the change of dose. but this one was out of the blue. i'm hoping it was just a fluke and tomorrow will show if he needs to be back at 2u or if 1.8 will bring him into the "good" green for him. fingers crossed!
*i need to go back into his chart and change the entries. i did the logging of multiple tests and repeat tests wrong.*
schmit is so super sensitive to everything, especially tiny dosing changes. he swings wildly from crazy high to scary low. he begins to show "low bg symptoms" at a higher number than normal too. he begins to get a bit wobbly and just sort of off when he's anything below 80.
here's the story;
we figured out his crazy high numbers were from an unlisted ingredient in his treats. after switching to benito flakes instead he went from consistent 300-400's to 100's and below. the below 100's came out of nowhere though. he'd be above 100 and then wham! 60-50's! and they don't really correspond with his nadir. (which is nearer 8hrs than 6)
because he's so sensitive to the lower numbers we check his blood with 2 monitors if he dips to make sure the numbers are as close to correct as possible. his usual is relion premier and then the larger blood sample needed relion prime to compare. after a few consecutive nights setting the alarm at +6 to test him i decided to lower his dose from 2u to 1.8(ish) the very next test he was way back up in the high 300's!
today is the 4th day at 1.8 he went to sleep at 287 @+2 and he woke up 10hrs later with an amps of 75 with primer and 63 prime. it took high carb food 4 hours to raise him into the 90's and for him to act normal again. ( that's very unusual. ) the rest of the day he's back into the high 300's. his pmps was 365.
anyhow, i know lantus takes a few days to really show the change of dose. but this one was out of the blue. i'm hoping it was just a fluke and tomorrow will show if he needs to be back at 2u or if 1.8 will bring him into the "good" green for him. fingers crossed!
*i need to go back into his chart and change the entries. i did the logging of multiple tests and repeat tests wrong.*