? BG Rising after AM Shot 4/10 Lulu AMPS-142,+3.5-144,+6-155,+9-157,PMPS-216,+2-153,+11-180

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lulu`s dosage was increased by .25u this morning, yet her BG levels have been rising over the past 6 hrs. Not complaining, she`s in the blues, but curious as to why this would happen. Maybe a partial fur shot?
 
This could be NDW - New dose Wonkiness. It happens sometimes when you increase the dose. Just stick with the dose for now and the NDW should settle down in a day or so.
 
Here's a link to your last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...121-7-185-pmps-293-2-176.135939/#post-1401742

LuLu is looking very pretty in blue today. :cool: With allowed meter variances, these are almost the same number.

I see that last night she went from 293 at shot time to 176 at +2. When you see a big drop like that at the +2 test, it means it's going to be an active cycle. She might have even seen greens last night. Take a look at the day cycle on 4/6 as an example. If you can't stay up and monitor when you see that big a drop, make sure you leave out lots of higher carb food for her to eat. The +2 test is a handy one, as it often gives us a hint about what the cycle will look like. A big drop from the preshot means an active cycle which will need more monitoring (or leaving out high carb food), a number about the same as the preshot means a normal Lantus cycle, and a higher number means a quiet cycle.
 
Got it! I bought one of those PetSafe 5 compartment auto feeders today, so I`ll put some gravy-type foods in the compartments when I see a drop like that again. Usually I leave food out for them at night, but who knows if they eat the whole thing in one whole pig-out. So this feeder will come in handy. Hopefully after next week, I should be able to do more night testing.

Learning so much every day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top