BG readings with Reli on Prime

Darwin H.

Member Since 2018
yesterday this time Simba was 304 on BG, last nite it was 190. This morning 2 hrs past AM feeding and before 2U shot it is a 67? Wow. I hope that is the "Nadir" as I understand it since Lower than that would be bad if I understand correctly. Factoring in 20% discrepancy
 
Great job getting your spreadsheet set-up. One thing I want to mention is that we use pre-shot numbers to ensure that that it is "safe" to give a shot. This means for each and every shot, there should be a pre-shot test. I'm seeing mid cycle tests in your spreadsheet which is great, but I don't see the pre-shot to understand how low he was before the shot.

Nadir is the lowest point in the cycle. At this point we don't know when he hits that low point. May I recommend that you do another test soon and post your results so we know if he is going too low too fast? I would also like to confirm you have supplies to manage lower blood glucose (BG) such as high carb food, honey and/or karo syrup. Please keep posting here as we will want to make sure he is safe today.

Your last post is here. We include this for continuity.
 
This morning 2 hrs past AM feeding and before 2U shot it is a 67?

You need to be testing before every shot....the general way to plan your day is to Test/Feed/Shoot at AMPS (like I shoot at 6am/6pm....at 6am, I Test first, then feed, then shoot....all within about 5 minutes)

Then get tests whenever you can throughout the cycle....like if you T/F/S at 6am and test again at 9am, that's 3 hours after the shot, so the test result goes in the +3 cell on your spreadsheet. If you test again at noon, that's 6 hours after the shot, so the test number goes in the +6 cell...all the way up to +11 and then the next cycle starts.

Using the 6/6 schedule for shots, you'd want to make sure he didn't eat after 4/4 so that when you test at 6, you get a number that's not influenced by food

DID YOU SHOOT THIS MORNING?
 
Yes I have Karo syrup at the ready and will not give shot if readings are lower than 200. For now until I can compare my machine with the Vet readings are close early next week I have to believe what I am seeing. He really seems fine and has an appetitite.
I will leave the Kirkland kibble out for him to nosh on. Thank you for the quick response. Will check again later before his night time shot...
 
OK Great! Next task is to work on the spreadsheet (SS) to reflect what is really going on. If I understand correctly, 67 is AMPS (AM pre-shot number). You correctly interpreted this to be too low to give a shot, so in the U column, change the 2 to NS. This will record the fact that you did not give a shot. If normal shot time is 6AM, +2 is 8AM and that is where you would record the +2 test result. Does that make sense?

Going forward, take a pre-shot number for both AM and PM and record those as AMPS and PMPS respectively. When insulin is given, the amount given is then recorded in the U column.

I know others have encouraged you to get rid of the dry, please be aware that changing him to a low carb wet food will also lower his BG and may reduce his insulin needs.
 
I did not give shot and that reflects in using new spreadsheet now. I even tested myself and I am not diabetic and I tested @ 79 right after break fast myself. So I have to think machine is accurate at this moment in time. Thanks to all for help.
 
I think you probably need to reduce his dose if he was only 67 this morning. With only 2 shots in, his depot isn't anywhere close to full yet so 2U looks like it's going to be too much for him right now.

Most of our cats here are started too high (when they listen to their vet) but what WE recommend is a usual starting dose of .5 to 1U twice a day. It's a lot safer to go up slowly (if necessary) than to risk a hypoglycemic crisis!!

I'd strongly suggest dropping back to 1U and then testing before each shot and then at least 1 test somewhere 5-7 hours after the morning shot, and a "before bed" test on the PM shot
 
Darwin, Chris is one of the experts here on FDMB:) She saved my Elmo’s life with her help and stayed with me all night , guiding and advising me . Elmo would not be here if not for Chris :bighug: Her advice is solid and guided by years of experience :)
 
It's so great having this forum, I don't know what I would have done without the great people here and advice. I have been searching the entire internet doing the deep dive putting my life aside in the last few days since I found out
 
Simba is one very blessed kitty to have you :) There is so much to be learned here in addition to how to handle FD . Glad you and Simba found us :) It really is a knowledgeable, loving group of folks from around the world .
 
Darwin, you are indeed in the right place. I second Beth73 in her comments. I am so glad you are feeling better about Simba's treatment and how to integrate it into your life. There are so many people here sharing the experience and knowledge accumulated over years, through trial and error, and just plain perseverance. You aren't going to meet a better bunch of people that are here simply to learn, teach and help each other.
 
great having this forum, I don't know what I would have done without the great people here and advice.
Well, I can firmly say, Nelli would not be with me in body, anymore- if I had never stumbled upon this group of incredibly knowledgeable in FD, selfless and tireless help of the many.
T.r.u.s.t here and you’ll be blessed.
I’ll be talking to you about in a couple of months ;) :)
 
Well, I can firmly say, Nelli would not be with me in body, anymore- if I had never stumbled upon this group of incredibly knowledgeable in FD, selfless and tireless help of the many.
T.r.u.s.t here and you’ll be blessed.
I’ll be talking to you about in a couple of months ;) :)

I can agree with all the previous posts. Without the help of the great people here, I am sure Andy would have not made it 3 yrs ago. This site has been invaluable to me and is my only guidance on Lantus since vets around here don't use it due to cost.
 
Back
Top