BG question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle Wilson

Member Since 2017
My cat was disguised about 4 weeks ago. BG was 500. She is on 2.5 oh Lantus 2x a day. We did a 12 hour curve today. She was 88 this morning I skipped her insulin. Four hours later 94 then 4 hours later 191 then 399. We then gave her 2 of her insulin. What does all this mean? Was I right to skip insulin this morning?
 
Try 2 units for a while and see how she does. It seems2.5 may be too much.

Go yo the lantus forum and read the yellow stickies at the top. Read more about the two protocols TR, and SLGS and see which you are more comfortable with.
 
You did right by skipping this morning!! It looks like 2.5 is too high a dose!!

What dose did you start at?
We started at 2. When we did a curve 2 weeks ago all her numbers were in the mid 350's. This was the first curve I have done since taking away the dry food.
 
This was the first curve I have done since taking away the dry food.

removing the dry can make a big difference in the numbers! I'd reduce the dose back down and instead of doing curves, get tests in mid-cycle (about 5-7 hours after the shot) in the morning and at least a "before bed" test at night.

Getting at least 4 tests per day will give you a lot more information that doing a curve once in awhile
 
removing the dry can make a big difference in the numbers! I'd reduce the dose back down and instead of doing curves, get tests in mid-cycle (about 5-7 hours after the shot) in the morning and at least a "before bed" test at night.

Getting at least 4 tests per day will give you a lot more information that doing a curve once in awhile
I work during the day so can't test mid day except on the weekend.
 
I work during the day so can't test mid day except on the weekend.

OK.....that's fine.....if you get at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle, that will help to see what's going on

Most cats do go lower at night, so it's important to get those tests in to make sure they're going to be safe while you're sleeping too!
 
OK.....that's fine.....if you get at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle, that will help to see what's going on

Most cats do go lower at night, so it's important to get those tests in to make sure they're going to be safe while you're sleeping too!
We tested last night before we gave her insulin and she was 356.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top