BG numbers not coming down quickly

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieP and Ninja

Member Since 2012
I posted this in the main forum too, but realized I probably should have posted here first. Looking for some input from owners whose cats ran BG numbers averaging over 400 for a couple of weeks or longer.

My cat Ninja is on 2.5 units of Lantus but is still averaging BG in the low to mid 400’s, despite gradually increasing the Lantus by ½ unit weekly since June 3 (started her at 1 unit b.i.d. and she is now up to 2.5 units b.i.d.). Is 2.5 units considered a high dose, and does this seem odd that her numbers have stayed about the same for the last couple of weeks, despite weekly increases?

At her diagnosis, Ninja’s numbers were in the 600’s. Week 1, getting one unit of Lantus b.i.d., I was seeing average numbers in the mid to high 500’s. When we increased her her dose in week two to 1.5 b.i.d., I saw her numbers go down to the low to mid 400’s (showing progress).

Week 3, the vet suggested increasing to 2.0 b.i.d., which I did, but I was still getting numbers averaging in the low to mid 400’s (not seeing much movement over the previous week’s 1.5 dose); and now this week – since Monday, Ninja is up to 2.5 b.i.d., yet I am still getting BG numbers In the low to mid 400’s – very similar to when her dose was 1.5 units b.i.d. a couple of weeks ago.

Is this normal that I would not see an immediate drop, despite having increased the insulin by 1 full unit b.i.d., over a two-week period?

Ninja is still eating dry food, which I am absolutely sick about (please do not scold me about this). My vet said that, due to the amount of weight Ninja has already lost, that I should feed her whatever she will eat for now (as she was eating almost nothing at diagnosis), that she cannot afford to lose more weight at this time and we should transition her to wet over time (as quickly as possible but making sure Ninja continues to eat).

I am attempting to transition Ninja to wet food following Dr. Lisa Pierson’s instructions in “Transitioning Feline Dry Food Addicts to Canned Food,” though this is not a quick process. Ninja is a particularly difficult case, but we are making progress. As Dr. Pierson notes in her article, it took her 3 months to transition her own cats fully – but I am hoping for less than that. In any case, I am aware that the dry food is fueling Ninja’s high numbers and that she will require a higher dose of Lantus than she would otherwise, until I can get her switched.

Can anyone speak to the leveling off I have seen in Ninja’s numbers – staying in the low to mid 400 range despite increasing her by 1 unit b.i.d. over a two week period. Is that unusual? Is 1 unit considered a large increase over a 2 week period? Is 2.5 units b.i.d. considered a high dose overall? If not, what is considered a high dose of Lantus? Should I ask the vet about going up yet again, even though Ninja’s dose was just increased two days ago to 2.5?

I am so scared that Ninja’s numbers are running that high on a consistent basis and causing her body harm – yet I don’t want to rush the process either (staying with the “start low and go slow” philosophy). I know every cat is different, but would welcome hearing about the experience of those who had cats running high numbers for a period of time --- and what dose it took to get the numbers down – or did the BG just start to come down with more time at a stable dose, etc.

Don’t worry, I will make no adjustments to Ninja’s dosage until discussing with her vet – but just looking for a greater understanding of Lantus & dosage, other insulins, and what worked for other cats. Also sorry I don't have my spreadsheet up yet (just keeping numbers in a journal for now).

Thanks and sorry this is so long.
 
While I have never had the problem with getting one of mine to switch over to wet food, I know that can wreck havoc with their numbers, so this is only a guess at this point, but it maybe that you just haven't gotten to a dose yet that can counteract the higher carb load.

Mel, Maxwell, Autunm & The Fur Gang
 
Yes, I think you may be right. I will talk to my vet about this. As I posted to the main board, in reply to a similar comment, Ninja is a major dry food junkie and I am slowly but surely weaning her onto a transition dry (Evo 10% carb, as recommended for transition only by Dr. Lisa Pierson). I am, literally, carving the Evo dry into shapes that look like the Hill's Science Diet dry (the only food Ninja will eat) and trying to smuggle it in to the Hill's without Ninja being aware. Yes, I know that's a little extreme. LOL! So far, Ninja eats around the Evo, but may have ingested one or two pieces along the way. Every day, I try to smuggle in more Evo. Wish me luck. I have another (non-diabetic) cat, Bella, who was thrilled to be transitioned to wet food; but not NInja. Thanks for the reply. I will keep carving, and ask my vet about upping the Lantus dosage in the meantime.
 
Couple of ideas:

Maybe it would help to slightly crush the 2 different dry foods so the pieces are too small to easily pick around. They don't actually chew them, so it should be OK to do this.

Or try the scent confusion option - sprinkle in a small amount of catnip and see if the covering scent and distraction will get her to eat a mix that you can gradually fade out.

It may help to do some play for 15-20 minutes before feeding with a chase/catch/kill activity, then put down the food to finish the behavior cycle with eat, eliminate, groom, sleep.

Until you can transistion, you'll just have to keep following the protocol (in the sticky posts) for dose adjustment based on the mid-cycle nadirs.

Hang in - persistance will win out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top