MelanieP and Ninja
Member Since 2012
I posted this in the main forum too, but realized I probably should have posted here first. Looking for some input from owners whose cats ran BG numbers averaging over 400 for a couple of weeks or longer.
My cat Ninja is on 2.5 units of Lantus but is still averaging BG in the low to mid 400’s, despite gradually increasing the Lantus by ½ unit weekly since June 3 (started her at 1 unit b.i.d. and she is now up to 2.5 units b.i.d.). Is 2.5 units considered a high dose, and does this seem odd that her numbers have stayed about the same for the last couple of weeks, despite weekly increases?
At her diagnosis, Ninja’s numbers were in the 600’s. Week 1, getting one unit of Lantus b.i.d., I was seeing average numbers in the mid to high 500’s. When we increased her her dose in week two to 1.5 b.i.d., I saw her numbers go down to the low to mid 400’s (showing progress).
Week 3, the vet suggested increasing to 2.0 b.i.d., which I did, but I was still getting numbers averaging in the low to mid 400’s (not seeing much movement over the previous week’s 1.5 dose); and now this week – since Monday, Ninja is up to 2.5 b.i.d., yet I am still getting BG numbers In the low to mid 400’s – very similar to when her dose was 1.5 units b.i.d. a couple of weeks ago.
Is this normal that I would not see an immediate drop, despite having increased the insulin by 1 full unit b.i.d., over a two-week period?
Ninja is still eating dry food, which I am absolutely sick about (please do not scold me about this). My vet said that, due to the amount of weight Ninja has already lost, that I should feed her whatever she will eat for now (as she was eating almost nothing at diagnosis), that she cannot afford to lose more weight at this time and we should transition her to wet over time (as quickly as possible but making sure Ninja continues to eat).
I am attempting to transition Ninja to wet food following Dr. Lisa Pierson’s instructions in “Transitioning Feline Dry Food Addicts to Canned Food,” though this is not a quick process. Ninja is a particularly difficult case, but we are making progress. As Dr. Pierson notes in her article, it took her 3 months to transition her own cats fully – but I am hoping for less than that. In any case, I am aware that the dry food is fueling Ninja’s high numbers and that she will require a higher dose of Lantus than she would otherwise, until I can get her switched.
Can anyone speak to the leveling off I have seen in Ninja’s numbers – staying in the low to mid 400 range despite increasing her by 1 unit b.i.d. over a two week period. Is that unusual? Is 1 unit considered a large increase over a 2 week period? Is 2.5 units b.i.d. considered a high dose overall? If not, what is considered a high dose of Lantus? Should I ask the vet about going up yet again, even though Ninja’s dose was just increased two days ago to 2.5?
I am so scared that Ninja’s numbers are running that high on a consistent basis and causing her body harm – yet I don’t want to rush the process either (staying with the “start low and go slow” philosophy). I know every cat is different, but would welcome hearing about the experience of those who had cats running high numbers for a period of time --- and what dose it took to get the numbers down – or did the BG just start to come down with more time at a stable dose, etc.
Don’t worry, I will make no adjustments to Ninja’s dosage until discussing with her vet – but just looking for a greater understanding of Lantus & dosage, other insulins, and what worked for other cats. Also sorry I don't have my spreadsheet up yet (just keeping numbers in a journal for now).
Thanks and sorry this is so long.
My cat Ninja is on 2.5 units of Lantus but is still averaging BG in the low to mid 400’s, despite gradually increasing the Lantus by ½ unit weekly since June 3 (started her at 1 unit b.i.d. and she is now up to 2.5 units b.i.d.). Is 2.5 units considered a high dose, and does this seem odd that her numbers have stayed about the same for the last couple of weeks, despite weekly increases?
At her diagnosis, Ninja’s numbers were in the 600’s. Week 1, getting one unit of Lantus b.i.d., I was seeing average numbers in the mid to high 500’s. When we increased her her dose in week two to 1.5 b.i.d., I saw her numbers go down to the low to mid 400’s (showing progress).
Week 3, the vet suggested increasing to 2.0 b.i.d., which I did, but I was still getting numbers averaging in the low to mid 400’s (not seeing much movement over the previous week’s 1.5 dose); and now this week – since Monday, Ninja is up to 2.5 b.i.d., yet I am still getting BG numbers In the low to mid 400’s – very similar to when her dose was 1.5 units b.i.d. a couple of weeks ago.
Is this normal that I would not see an immediate drop, despite having increased the insulin by 1 full unit b.i.d., over a two-week period?
Ninja is still eating dry food, which I am absolutely sick about (please do not scold me about this). My vet said that, due to the amount of weight Ninja has already lost, that I should feed her whatever she will eat for now (as she was eating almost nothing at diagnosis), that she cannot afford to lose more weight at this time and we should transition her to wet over time (as quickly as possible but making sure Ninja continues to eat).
I am attempting to transition Ninja to wet food following Dr. Lisa Pierson’s instructions in “Transitioning Feline Dry Food Addicts to Canned Food,” though this is not a quick process. Ninja is a particularly difficult case, but we are making progress. As Dr. Pierson notes in her article, it took her 3 months to transition her own cats fully – but I am hoping for less than that. In any case, I am aware that the dry food is fueling Ninja’s high numbers and that she will require a higher dose of Lantus than she would otherwise, until I can get her switched.
Can anyone speak to the leveling off I have seen in Ninja’s numbers – staying in the low to mid 400 range despite increasing her by 1 unit b.i.d. over a two week period. Is that unusual? Is 1 unit considered a large increase over a 2 week period? Is 2.5 units b.i.d. considered a high dose overall? If not, what is considered a high dose of Lantus? Should I ask the vet about going up yet again, even though Ninja’s dose was just increased two days ago to 2.5?
I am so scared that Ninja’s numbers are running that high on a consistent basis and causing her body harm – yet I don’t want to rush the process either (staying with the “start low and go slow” philosophy). I know every cat is different, but would welcome hearing about the experience of those who had cats running high numbers for a period of time --- and what dose it took to get the numbers down – or did the BG just start to come down with more time at a stable dose, etc.
Don’t worry, I will make no adjustments to Ninja’s dosage until discussing with her vet – but just looking for a greater understanding of Lantus & dosage, other insulins, and what worked for other cats. Also sorry I don't have my spreadsheet up yet (just keeping numbers in a journal for now).
Thanks and sorry this is so long.