BG Numbers all over the place

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Danidahl, Sep 8, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danidahl

Danidahl Member

Hello everyone,

This is a cross post, I also posted in the Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH page but am posting here after it was recommended I do so.

This is my first time posting so please correct me if I am not doing this correctly. I have the link to my cats google sheet in my signature. My cat was diagnosed a little over a month ago after I noticed an excess amount of pee in the litter box. My vet started him on two units of vetsulin and we changed his food, he is currently eating the fancy feast pate meals. After a little over 2 weeks on the 2 units she increased him to 2.5. We were originally told to test before the shot and to not give insulin if they are under 180. The 2.5 units of insulin were making it so he was in the 100s after 12 hours. We told our vet this and were told to start testing BG 15-20 after eating instead. His numbers are still showing in the 100s which means we are only giving him insulin once per day. After communicating this with my vet I was told I didn't need to test his BG numbers anymore and could instead just give him 2.5 units of insulin after every meal (twice a day). I do not want to do that and was wondering if someone could look at my sheet and tell me what they think? Should I wait longer than 15-20min to test? Thank you in advance. I am very new to this process but know of the important of testing BG before giving insulin and am feeling upset that my vet wants me to stop and shoot not knowing his numbers.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Critter Mom

Critter Mom Well-Known Member

Hi there,

Posting is fine. :)