BG low for first time NEED Dosage Help again AMPS 218.

Status
Not open for further replies.
That’s fantastic. Once you get the Rx you can do what is best for Hexie. You may want to share less information with the vet in the beginning especially so that she doesn’t freak out on you.
 
Congratulations on the reduction! And really I think she went low yesterday while you were away — which accounts for the high red PMPS. I’m happy about the reduction because I think your vet was overdosing her and she keeps getting reduction after reduction, which it appears she needs.
 
Since I've been doing the Curves at home she is good with just getting those numbers and then she instructs on the dosage. She felt good with her vetsulin numbers but I was not. I gave her multiple reasons why I wanted to switch and she was good with it. If she reads the AAHA guidelines I think it's similar to SLGS and the numbers are closer to the forums but I need to look at it more. It even has flow charts to follow but I believe the numbers are for pet meters as they do not promote the use of human meters.

I'm trying to pay attention to when she's eating throughout the day. I've already been taking down how much she eats over 12 hrs. So looking at her food at every test I do. And how often she's over there when I'm able to notice. Like it seems she's there every 1 -1.5hrs for at least the first 3-4 hrs at least.

Congratulations on the reduction! And really I think she went low yesterday while you were away — which accounts for the high red PMPS. I’m happy about the reduction because I think your vet was overdosing her and she keeps getting reduction after reduction, which it appears she needs.
Yes I think it's crazy what her numbers are now versus the much higher doses. And now I understand bouncing and so many other things because of you all and this forum. I was explaining to my husband all this and he said it sounds complicated. I ssid it kinda is but once you get it, you get it. And its not as scary when you understand things better and have so much support on here.
 
Last edited:
I think you are going to be in for another reduction soon. High red amps this morning and last night she was already at 124 at +2. I hope you gave a snack. I would have set an alarm to get up and test later. Hopefully she will do her action in the daytime cycles for you though. I know you are doing your best with health challenges. I'm pleased that Hexie is making progress!
 
I'm going to make a housekeeping request. You thread is getting long!! Would you mind starting a new thread? We try to cap threads on Health at around 50 posts since it's a lot to read through especially if it's several days of posts.

If you're switching to glargine, Lantus is very expensive. The generic/biosimilar, glargine, is far less expensive. You can price shop on GoodRx to see who has the best deal in your area. You will also need U100 syringes. Your Vetsulin syringes are U40 and the insulin and syringe concentrations need to match. Many of the members here buy a box of 5 glargine pens. Vials are also available. The way you think about dosing also differs between glargine and Vetsulin and we can help walk you through the differences. Do you know when you'll be able to start using glargine?
 
I think you are going to be in for another reduction soon. High red amps this morning and last night she was already at 124 at +2. I hope you gave a snack. I would have set an alarm to get up and test later. Hopefully she will do her action in the daytime cycles for you though. I know you are doing your best with health challenges. I'm pleased that Hexie is making progress!
I thought she did too. She had food available and actually eats the most at night so it’s half her daily food set out. I did try to stay up but fell asleep, unfortunately I have chronic migraine as well as hEDS. The +2 was already really late. I am slowly getting back to our usual earlier time, doing only 30 mins a day. It will be a lil easier to get the +4 when we are at our normal time. I will try to do better with the low numbers and testing again. I just did her blood and it’s 105 so will be testing again soon.


I'm going to make a housekeeping request. You thread is getting long!! Would you mind starting a new thread? We try to cap threads on Health at around 50 posts since it's a lot to read through especially if it's several days of posts.

If you're switching to glargine, Lantus is very expensive. The generic/biosimilar, glargine, is far less expensive. You can price shop on GoodRx to see who has the best deal in your area. You will also need U100 syringes. Your Vetsulin syringes are U40 and the insulin and syringe concentrations need to match. Many of the members here buy a box of 5 glargine pens. Vials are also available. The way you think about dosing also differs between glargine and Vetsulin and we can help walk you through the differences. Do you know when you'll be able to start using glargine?
You were reading my mind. I was thinking I need to make a new one about switching to Glargine. Should I do that in the Lantus forum section or somewhere else? Should I tag you all?

I asked my vet for the generic 5 pack of pens and using GoodRx at Walgreens will be $80.43. The are sending it to Walgreens sometime today. I’m going to call again shortly to check status. Hopefully I can get it tomorrow. And start her on with your help. She also did a prescription for the needles. I’ll have to figure out a way to get those tomorrow too.
 
If you're getting syringes, you want:
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in ½ inch or 5/16 inch needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
If you're going to Walmart, you can get the Relion syringes. You may need to ask for the syringes with half unit marking. You can also purchase them online through ADW.

It's entirely up to you if you want to post in Health for a bit or switch over to the Lantus forum. I tend to think you will get a wealth of information on the Lantus board. It's also fine to tag the members you've been working with. Many of us are/were Lantus users.
 
Thank you for the links for syringes.

I posted about switching to Lantus under its section. Below is the link to the thread for whoever would like to still assist me.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-help-switching-from-vetsulin-to-generic-lantus.281067/

Also earned another reduction today. Tested her at +3 and it’s 68. Will test again in about an hour.

Thank you everyone for all your help. I cannot express enough how grateful I am. I believe this thread will be closed as it is too long and I won’t belong in the Vetsulin section soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top