BG Levels

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
What a difference a day can make. Bubba went from 410 yesterday morning so I increased his insulin from 1.00 to 1.25 and then tonight PMPS was 197! I waiting 20 mins and retested and it was 215. So I reduced the insulin back to 1.00. So my question is where do I put the retest that was 20 mins. later. I put it under the comments but don't know how to do it so everyone can see it.
 
we have a protocol for using ProZinc/PZI here that may help you use it.
The important thing is to note that insulin doses get adjusted based on the nadir, the lowest glucose post-shot, with some consideration of the pre-shot numbers once you have enough data.
It may be possible to develop a sliding scale for shooting once you have more data.
 
we have a protocol for using ProZinc/PZI here that may help you use it.
The important thing is to note that insulin doses get adjusted based on the nadir, the lowest glucose post-shot, with some consideration of the pre-shot numbers once you have enough data.
It may be possible to develop a sliding scale for shooting once you have more data.
So I should have taken a mid-day reading? I was going to and then I talked myself out of it because I thought I was suppose to hold the dose for 3 cycles. I understand now the importance of that information. Is the nadir reading always half way between the AM and PM insulin?
 
A mid-day reading, around +5 to +7 hours post-shot, lets you see if the glucose is staying safely above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer. Whenever you can test during that period is good, because things happen - like fur balls, food batch changes causing a change in appetite (up or down) or GI upsets, visitors, schedule changes and so on.
 
How do you manually change the color of the cell?
To manually change the color code of a cell, click on the cell you want to color and then click the icon that looks like a tipped gallon of paint in the tool bar. It's about in the middle of the tool bar. Choose the color you're looking for by clicking on it. Voila! The color in the chosen cell has been changed manually.

His readings 20 mins apart are in two different color codes.
197 @12
215 @ 12.25

In a case like this I color the cell to match the reading which is most significant to that point in the cycle. In this case, the reading which holds the most significance to the action you took is the 215 @+12.25. You shot the 215 at +12.25 (approximately --- rounding up or down to the nearest quarter hour makes things easy) so I would color the cell yellow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top