BG levels getting better, now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been treating my 17 year old cat with Lantus for about 6 weeks now. Her pre-shot levels are staying around 140-220 and her peak BG levels have been at 80-130 for over a week now. I'm giving her 1 or 1.5 U every 12 hours dependining on her pre-shot BG. It looks like we're on the right track. What do I do now? Try to maitain this or try to tighten control even more. My vet is no help at all. To tighten control I need new syringes with smaller than .5 unit increments. Any help?
 
This is great news, congratulations. Unfortunately they do not make syringes with anything smaller than 1/2 unit increments. If you're using 3/10 cc you also have the syringes with the widest barrel so it's easier to try to get .25 or skinny half units or .75 - fat half units.

I'm assuming you're feeding your kitty canned only and no dry. If not then switching to canned only would be the next step.

But if you're already on canned only, and if you want to try to more tightly regulate your kitty I would suggest you check out the Lantus Insulin Support Group (ISG) that is geared towards tight regulation. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9
 
Really important - Lantus doses are not adjusted on the preshot value; they are adjusted based upon the lowest value between shots, the nadir. The stickies posted in Lantus explain how to use Lantus to its best effect and I encourage you to read them thoroughly, even print them out.

Also, you should give the same dose, at 12 hour intervals, without adjusting on the fly. Based only on what you've described, either a fat 1.0 or a skinny 1.5 might be the right dose for your cat. You'll be able to determine that after doing a curve over 12 hours - testing every 2 hours, from before the morning shot, to before the evening shot.

You estimate 0.25 increments between the half unit markings, using the same side of the line on each end (both top edges or both bottom) and carefully draw the syringe to your best estimate. Some of us will use 'fat' doses where the syringe edge is just a bit above the marker line or 'skinny' doses where the syringe edge is just below the marker line (where above means away from the needle and below means towards the needle)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top