BG level low for Diabetic Cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlackRose

Member Since 2018
My vet has prescribed my cat Humulin 1u every 12 hours. For the first two weeks his insulin remained high over 500.I decided to buy a glucose monitor to check at home because I didn’t want him to fall too low. I weened him off of dry food and he’s strictly on wet food. I stopped injecting him with insulin because one day his bg was in the 200 without having received the insulin yet Since then I’ve noticed his bg less than 400 without getting the injections. Today I check his BG and it was 176, again I have not been giving him any insulin injections. He hasn’t been excessively urinating/drinking because he’s on wet food and he doesn’t eat savagely. What’s going on with his Bg- I was told he’d have to be on it for the rest of his life and I’m scared to resume insulin injection for the fear of him going into hypoglycemia.
 
Hello I see youve been a member since 2018? I'm no expert but this post will bump your thread to the top.
The only thing I can think of is Humulin is a harsh insulin (Thats what we started out with) but that was eons ago. It could be that your kitty just needs a lower dose OR? he may need a change of insulin.
But like I said I'm NOT an expert hold on for more replies.
jeanne
 
Welcome to FDMB.

Congrats for starting to home test your cat! it is the best means of keeping your kitty safe. Just one note -- we consider "normal" blood glucose (BG) numbers to be in the 50 - 120 range (on a human glucometer). So while your cat's numbers are looking great, they are not back to normal range yet.

It's wonderful that you've switched your cat to canned food diet. What are you currently feeding your kitty? Not all canned foods are low in carbohydrates and a diabetic cat should be on food that's less than 10% carbs. (Most of the members here feed closer to the 5% range.) The most economical of the low carb, canned foods are Fancy Feast pate style. This rather large chart contains the nutritional content of a broad range of foods that are available in the US.

Not all cats require being on insulin after they are diagnosed. We have a good track record of cats going into remission. Unlike humans, a cat's pancreas can recover. The reason behind the diabetes can also make a difference. For example, if your cat was being treated with steroid can cause a steroid-induced diabetes. Once the course of steroids is completed, a short course of insulin and change in diet may get a cat into remission. We've also had cats go into remission with a change in diet.

It would be helpful if you could read over this post and set up a spreadsheet. It will allow us to see your cat's test results and provide input. Having some additional information in your signature will also save you from our asking you the same questions over and over and over again.
 
Thanks for your response. He’s currently on Fancy Feast pate. Always have been. But sometimes he becomes picky and won’t eat the wet food w.o sprinkles of dry food on top. I haven’t been regularly checking his glucose But I will post a few of his readings from the time I started self checking.
7/11/20 8:34am-176
7/6/20 8:38pm 395
7/3/20 12:18pm 265
6/29/20 2:47pm 455
6/28/20 5:42pm 513
6/27/20 1:56pm 415
6/25/20 11:47pm 522
6/25/20 6:13am 446
6/24/20 11:15pm 554
6/24/20 8:47am 513
6/24/20 12:01am 569.
The highest I’ve seen his BG is 569, this was the first testing after having the vet prescribe him insulin. on 7/3/20 his bg of 265 is the readings of him not having had insulin injections up until current date of today. Again I don’t check his bg regularly I was only given 25 strips initially so until I buy more I haven’t tested daily.
 
thanks Sienne!
Thank you for your input any type of knowledge is helpful to me. This vet wasn’t my primary because of the Covid most places were booked. I’m still looking for the best vet to treat him. And the first place where he was Initially diagnosed wanted to put him on Lantus Glargine.
 
How many days has it been since he’s had insulin?

Also, why did you take him to the vet when he diagnosed? I’m asking because as Sienne and Gabby said, steroids are well know for causing high blood glucose. Infection is another possible cause of high glucose.
 
How many days has it been since he’s had insulin?

Also, why did you take him to the vet when he diagnosed? I’m asking because as Sienne and Gabby said, steroids are well know for causing high blood glucose. Infection is another possible cause of high glucose.
The first diagnosis in 2018 I wasn’t able to put him on insulin due to my work schedule and I had to have one of my other cats euthanized. So 2years passed. I wanted to get his glucose checked again and get him on insulin. A full blood count was checked everything else in his body, levels were normal. Thyroid etc came back normal according to the vet. I haven’t given him insulin for this month. And the only other thing as far as possible infection is ear infection. He stumbles falling over a lot. Not able to jump the way a cat is suppose to, scratch at his ear, shake his head. The vet told me didn’t he have an ear infection I’m even though wax build up was present at the time. She then prescribed me animax for his ear 1-2 drops every 12 hours. The ear wax build up went away and I reached the max days of usage recommended Which was 5-7 days for that. The stumbling and lose of balance is still present then after.. If I put the drops in his ear. The falling over decreases and he’s able to maintain his balance but if I stop putting the drops the falling over becomes worse, almost as if he’s trying to walk on ice and the way he falls down from just being on the ground makes him uncomfortable. He cries after falling hard...
Doc also said he might have a heart murmur which is why she wanted to do full panel blood. But the thyroid levels were normal. And due to the Covid I had to just hand him over. I couldn’t go inside with him when he was already shaken up on the drive there. Every physical exam he comes back fine. He’s currently 8lbs weight, in his stomach which shows he eats but towards the hind legs is less fatty. Uhm this is all the info I have. They check his teeth never say much about that. Other than the diabetes I haven’t been told of any other disease or possible infection that could cause the diabetes. No vet has mention a steroid issue as a possible cause to me before.
 
I looked up animax. I only found info about the ointment, not drops. It looks like it’s an antibiotic, steroid and fungicide. I don’t know if there is enough steroid in a topical ointment or drops to contribute to higher blood glucose readings, but I kind of doubt it.

Animax Ointment for Topical Use on Dogs and Cats
(nystatin + thiostrepton + neomycin + triamcinolone)
  • This ointment blends: nystatin, an antifungal; the antibiotics neomycin and thiostrepton; and triamcinolone, a corticosteroid.
  • Easy to apply ointment for the skin or ears.
  • Bacterial, yeast and fungal infections can cause persistent and uncomfortable ear and skin infections in dogs and cats.
 
I looked up animax. I only found info about the ointment, not drops. It looks like it’s an antibiotic, steroid and fungicide. I don’t know if there is enough steroid in a topical ointment or drops to contribute to higher blood glucose readings, but I kind of doubt it.

Animax Ointment for Topical Use on Dogs and Cats
(nystatin + thiostrepton + neomycin + triamcinolone)
  • This ointment blends: nystatin, an antifungal; the antibiotics neomycin and thiostrepton; and triamcinolone, a corticosteroid.
  • Easy to apply ointment for the skin or ears.
  • Bacterial, yeast and fungal infections can cause persistent and uncomfortable ear and skin infections in dogs and cats.
The medication is in liquid form not cream. So it’s droplets into the ear canal. It treats ear infection because he did have an ear infection which is why the doctor prescribed it to me. Separate from the insulin. he had full panel blood work done everything came back normal aside from the glucose levels.
 
Animax, when used in the ear, tends to raise BG/insulin needs but not as much as Tresaderm.
Okay. I think you guys are misunderstanding the issue here. My cat was diagnosed with diabetes. That’s it. The whole ear infection and medication of Animax prescribed has nothing to do with his BG, because he was receiving the insulin prior to the ear issue. He is no longer receiving the ear medication. I posted a few of the at home readings which were all of the place; That is why I posted because his readings were lower without the insulin injections, So I was looking for advice from someone who would understand why the BG readings would be lower without insulin compared to consistently being high with the insulin. For those who have or have had a diabetic cat and he/she went into remission or w.e Also which insulin brand was prescribed that maybe gave better results. Could it be the Humulin is not the best option. Before I take him to a professional vet again. I was just seeking advice about the diabetes etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top