BG is up high in the mornign!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jieun Lee

Member Since 2015
My name is Jieun and my beautiful cat is Charls.
His BG is little bit strange these days.
Past 3days his BG was over 400 in the morning (2units) and 12 hours after it was normal. (80-140) so i didn't give him a shot.
But last night I wanted to double check.
After 4 hours, and it was 400.
Did I give him to much insulin?
 
Welcome.
- What insulin are you using and what is the dose?
Good insulin are the human Lantus and Levemir and the pet insulins ProZinc and BCP PZI. For those two human insulin it is best to get the 5 pack of 3 ml disposable pens via a 10 ml vial. Although per ml the vial is less expensive most cats will not use up a 10 ml vial before the insulin goes bad/becomes ineffective. The human insulin N/NPH is sometimes prescribed but only lasts 8-10 hours. Same for the pet insulin Vetsulin/Caninisulin.
- It is good that yo are testing Charls BG at home. What meter are you using? Many opf use record our reading and other info in a spreadsheet. See:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/
What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. Not reason for a prescription food. Here is a list of commercial low-carb cannedhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/

It could be that your insulin dose is too high and thus should be reduced to allow two shots a day.A spreadsheet will allow other to better see the whole picture
 
Hi Jieun Lee and welcome to FDMB!

So we don't have to ask each time, it will help to have info in your Signature Line. Click on your name or profile, then click on Signature and add the following:

Name of cat, date diagnosed, insulin, meter using, food feeding, any other medical conditions (if applicable) and country you're from.

Then press Save.

Is Charls still crying at night? Is he using the litterbox ok?

Also, take a look at our wonderful Lantus forum. We have terrific members there who will be able help guide you with Lantus-related dosing issues:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

Any questions, just ask!
 
Hi Jieun Lee and Welcome to the FDMB!!

I'm Chris Ronkoski from the Facebook group and I'm happy to see you made it over here! Here's some info from your Facebook post that I'm going to refer to:
Sep 2: morning 431 / evening 83
Sep 3: morning 428 / evening 111
Sep 4: morning 450 / evening 140 (right after eating)
So, past 3 days I gave him a shot (2units) in the morning and no shot in the evening.
But he cries all night for past 2days and now I just felt he is not much active like in the afternoon so checked his BG and it was 422. I feel something wrong here...

What I think might be going on is that Charls dose is too high. 2U is high starting dose...most of our cats we start at .5-1U

When you give the 2 units in the morning, by the PM his blood glucose is down but then since you skip the PM dose, it goes right back up again. Lantus needs to be given every 12 hours, so it's important to find a dose that's safe to give him both in the morning and night

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not the tests done before the shot (the Pre-shot tests), so it's important for you to start getting some tests in mid-cycle so we can see how he's doing. Somewhere between 5 and 7 hours after the shot in the morning and a test "before bed" at night to make sure he's going to be safe overnight is what we'd like to see for now.

The spreadsheet that's been mentioned above is a very valuable tool that we use here a lot. Please don't be afraid to ask for help if you have trouble with it!!

As for the crying and change in activity level....when we first start treatment and our kitties blood glucose is all over the place, it can cause some changes in their behavior....If you think about it, if your blood glucose was going from 400 to 100 and back again every day, you'd feel pretty awful too! With some time though (and help from the wonderful people here) we'll try to get him evened out and he should start to feel much better...and you should even see him doing things he hasn't done for a long time, like playing old games he used to play! Once they really start to feel better, it's amazing how much difference you can see in them!

If the crying continues, I'd be sure to test when he's doing in (to make sure he's not too low and is crying for food) but if he's showing any signs of distress, it's probably a good idea to get him checked over by the vet. Also make sure the crying doesn't have anything to do with when he's peeing or pooping.

Again, welcome and please ask all the questions you want! We're all here to help you and your "extra sweet" Charls!
 
I finally at a place has internet on. Thank you guys and I apologize that I couldn't reply immediately.
Charls' BG was #507 this morning so I gave him 1u shot and I checked up 6 hours later then was #80.
I guess 1u is right for him.
 
Hi @Jieun Lee, please download the spreadsheet and put in Charls' BG #'s so we have a better history and can help you.

Charls is not crying anymore, right? Is she and your other cat using the litter box ok?
 
Last edited:
yes, Charls doesn't cry anymore. and my cats are using litter box ok. I cleaned up yesterday and they seemed satisfied.
By the way, I'm trying to download the spreadsheet now. - and it's difficult for me but I will find out.
 
Last edited:
Good that Charls isn't crying anymore. If you need help with the spreadsheet, let us know and we will be happy to help you.
 
You don't actually download it. You File, Save a Copy in your Google Drive account.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top