BG is 34

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just my opinion. But I think it is premature to think about switching insulin. Vetsulin might not be ideal, but ECID. It doesn't work well for some cats. But it seems to be working in this case. Working a little "too well" at times. I think I'd explore a lower dose, or maybe your vet can concoct a "sliding scale" before deciding that another type of insulin is the best move.

Good to know.
 
Lucy, I have an appointment in a few minutes so I have to log off for awhile.
Others are watching and will help if needed. Although, you have such great intuition and have done such an awesome job! I'm not so sure you need our help any more, but don't worry... there are others who will check in with you.

I'll have to catch up to you later...
 
Whew! Tested him just now, his BG is 203, and we're getting to the time in the cycle when his BG starts to rise, anyway. Called my vet, she said to skip his dose tonight and call with a BG reading in the A.M. and she will adjust it from there. He has an appointment tomorrow at 4:00, so we'll hash out a new plan of attack then, I'm sure. I'm still monitoring him to make sure he doesn't drop again, but I think he's going to be okay. Wow, scary, scary afternoon! I can't thank all of you enough, you were all a tremendous help, and helped keep me calm, too. Thank you so much, from the bottoms of mine and Squallie's hearts!
 
Lucy, I have an appointment in a few minutes so I have to log off for awhile.
Others are watching and will help if needed. Although, you have such great intuition and have done such an awesome job! I'm not so sure you need our help any more, but don't worry... there are others who will check in with you.

I'll have to catch up to you later...
Thank you for all your help!
 
I'm so relieved to hear that the numbers are going up, but I'm sure no one is more relieved than you and of course Squallie.
 
I need to go as well, did not want to leave you in a lurch. Please keep us up to date on squallie's progress and know your in our harts as well.
 
Squallie never exhibited the classic signs of hypo that I've been told to look for. The only reason I was testing him today was because his AMPS numbers were low, and I debated whether or not to give him his morning dose. But I looked at his spreadsheet and saw a few other times he had similar low numbers and was okay, so I decided to go ahead, but was concerned enough that I thought I should monitor him throughout the day. Boy, am I glad I did! Based on his behavior alone I never would have suspected his BG was dropping so low. Lol, I have to say, I think Squallie thought this was a GREAT day, except for all the ear pricks; he got to eat all his favorite foods that he's not allowed to have anymore!
 
Hi. I'm just seeing this thread. You did a great job handling this! Squallie is lucky to have you watching out for him,

You could see some very high numbers post hypo. First, because he may "bounce" up high as a reaction to being so low. Second, he ate all that yummy, high-carb stuff! So don't be worried or surprised if he is high tonight or even tomorrow morning. Though I'm not familiar with your insulin, a dose reduction is definitely due, even if he's high tomorrow.
 
Hi. I'm just seeing this thread. You did a great job handling this! Squallie is lucky to have you watching out for him,

You could see some very high numbers post hypo. First, because he may "bounce" up high as a reaction to being so low. Second, he ate all that yummy, high-carb stuff! So don't be worried or surprised if he is high tonight or even tomorrow morning. Though I'm not familiar with your insulin, a dose reduction is definitely due, even if he's high tomorrow.
My vet advised not to give him any insulin tonight. Will he be okay if his BG goes way up?
 
Not a good day for cat crises at my household; just found out that while I was busy dealing with Squallie, my naughty Bengal boy Khoji was busy figuring out how to circumvent the lock on the back door! Fortunately my son spotted him before he got too far afield and we lured him back in with early dinner, lol.
 
Whew! Tested him just now, his BG is 203, and we're getting to the time in the cycle when his BG starts to rise, anyway. Called my vet, she said to skip his dose tonight and call with a BG reading in the A.M. and she will adjust it from there. He has an appointment tomorrow at 4:00, so we'll hash out a new plan of attack then, I'm sure. I'm still monitoring him to make sure he doesn't drop again, but I think he's going to be okay. Wow, scary, scary afternoon! I can't thank all of you enough, you were all a tremendous help, and helped keep me calm, too. Thank you so much, from the bottoms of mine and Squallie's hearts!

Woo-hoo!
 
Hi. I'm just seeing this thread. You did a great job handling this! Squallie is lucky to have you watching out for him,

You could see some very high numbers post hypo. First, because he may "bounce" up high as a reaction to being so low. Second, he ate all that yummy, high-carb stuff! So don't be worried or surprised if he is high tonight or even tomorrow morning. Though I'm not familiar with your insulin, a dose reduction is definitely due, even if he's high tomorrow.

(off topic): Maggie has the prettiest face I've ever seen!
 
Are there any post-hypo dangers I should look for or be aware of?
Sometimes we've seen kitties be more sensitive to insulin following a hypo, but *usually* after a symptomatic hypo.
My vet advised not to give him any insulin tonight. Will he be okay if his BG goes way up?
If he hasn't been throwing ketones, I wouldn't think there would be any problems skipping a shot. Skipping would allow you... and him... to rest and relax tonight! A little R & R does wonders for the soul. :)
my son spotted him before he got too far afield and we lured him back in with early dinner, lol.
Wonderful! You don't need another kitty crisis tonight!

You really did a great job today. Squallie is lucky to have you in his corner.
Get some rest...
 
Okay, now Squallie's BG is really climbing, it was 419 with the Relion and 485 with the Alphatrak. Of course, my vet is closed for the day! Do you think he"ll be okay without insulin with his BG that high?
 
Okay, now Squallie's BG is really climbing, it was 419 with the Relion and 485 with the Alphatrak. Of course, my vet is closed for the day! Do you think he"ll be okay without insulin with his BG that high?

Probably a mix of a bounce and a mix of all the stuff he got. If the vet says no insulin I say no insulin. If you check my spreadsheet Luna popped over 500 from a bounce the previous day, that was nowhere near as low as Squallie's #'s. Last thing you want is to have this happen again tonight.
 
Probably a mix of a bounce and a mix of all the stuff he got. If the vet says no insulin I say no insulin. If you check my spreadsheet Luna popped over 500 from a bounce the previous day, that was nowhere near as low as Squallie's #'s. Last thing you want is to have this happen again tonight.
Thanks for the advice and support, I truly appreciate it!
 
Sometimes we've seen kitties be more sensitive to insulin following a hypo, but *usually* after a symptomatic hypo.

If he hasn't been throwing ketones, I wouldn't think there would be any problems skipping a shot. Skipping would allow you... and him... to rest and relax tonight! A little R & R does wonders for the soul. :)

Wonderful! You don't need another kitty crisis tonight!

You really did a great job today. Squallie is lucky to have you in his corner.
Get some rest...
Thank you for the advice and kind words, much needed!
 
First, GOOD JOB! After today, you're officially a 'pro'. :)

I think what you're seeing with those high numbers now is a combination of the dry food finally getting a good hold and a bounce caused by Mr. Liver dumping extra 'sugars' into his bloodstream to compensate for those low numbers. That's the body's way of 'saving itself'. Those counterregulatory hormones can hang around for up to 3 days....
 
Wow, reading back over this has made me realize how much I DON'T trust my vet's advice. Guess I either need to work on that or get a new vet. I didn't realize it was that bad!
 
First, GOOD JOB! After today, you're officially a 'pro'. :)

I think what you're seeing with those high numbers now is a combination of the dry food finally getting a good hold and a bounce caused by Mr. Liver dumping extra 'sugars' into his bloodstream to compensate for those low numbers. That's the body's way of 'saving itself'. Those counterregulatory hormones can hang around for up to 3 days....
Aaagghh! Will he be okay? I mean, at what point does too high become potentially deadly?
 
Hi Lucy,

I've been away from the board this evening. I am so relieved you successfully raised Squallie's numbers.

(((Lucy and Squallie)))
.
 
Can alcohol and/or vaseline contaminate a reading? I've been wondering about that myself. I sterilize the lancets with alcohol and was wondering if that would fluctuate #'s at all?

Vaseline can cause an error on an Alphatrak meter if it comes into contact with the test strip. I can't remember the source but I have encountered advice not to clean the test area with alcohol-soaked wipes because it can interfere with glucometer test results.
.
 
Lucy, my understanding is that Squallie would have to be HIGH, HIGH for several days if not longer before damage to internal organs occurs. One night, or several days from a bounce, he should be fine.

And you did great today!!!
 
On the average, you need 2 weeks of insufficient insulin before ketones start forming in the blood (average meaning some may form them sooner, some may form them later). From that point, it is an average of 5 days before the ketones start showing up in the urine. If your cat has ever had ketones, we suggest getting a blood ketone meter, to detect them sooner whenever there is loss of appetite, high glucose, and possible infection.
 
Lucy, my understanding is that Squallie would have to be HIGH, HIGH for several days if not longer before damage to internal organs occurs. One night, or several days from a bounce, he should be fine.

And you did great today!!!
Thank you! That helps me breathe a little easier.
 
On the average, you need 2 weeks of insufficient insulin before ketones start forming in the blood (average meaning some may form them sooner, some may form them later). From that point, it is an average of 5 days before the ketones start showing up in the urine. If your cat has ever had ketones, we suggest getting a blood ketone meter, to detect them sooner whenever there is loss of appetite, high glucose, and possible infection.
To the best of my knowledge he's never had ketones. I tested his urine this AM and it was negative.
 
Hi Lucy - just caught this post. So nicely done for Squallie! I hope you can get some rest tonight.
Thank you, I think Squallie and I both need a rest! Poor baby got his ears pricked so much today that this afternoon, when I went to test him for the umpteenth time, his poor little ear stared bleeding before I even pricked it. He is such a sweet, tolerant kitty, but even he had had enough, and tried to hide under my bed.
 
Aaagghh! Will he be okay? I mean, at what point does too high become potentially deadly?
I don't think #'s can really get too high and the biggest danger is long(er) term stuff like organ influences or ketones/DKA. I don't think a night or two of high #'s can be too bad unless we're talking like 700 or 800. I think then the cat would be floating around like a balloon!
 
Hi Lucy,

I hope that yourself and Squallie are doing OK today and that you managed to get some much-needed rest after all of yesterday's 'excitement'. :eek:

I think Squallie may be getting Vetsulin carryover from one cycle into the next (e.g. 20 Aug). You're also getting quite early onset (+2) and late, low nadirs (riskily low for such a harsh insulin IMO). I'd recommend you seek advice from your vet and Vetsulin people here about dosing. I would recommend a very conservative approach giving insulin - especially for the next few days - until you get test data to determine whether Squallie has become super-sensitive to insulin after yesterday's severe hypo.

I'd also suggest considering another gentler, longer-acting insulin going forward.

My two penn'orth.

(Saoirse's muddling along, Lucy. Thank you for asking after her. :) )


Mogs
.
 
Hi Lucy,

I hope that yourself and Squallie are doing OK today and that you managed to get some much-needed rest after all of yesterday's 'excitement'. :eek:

I think Squallie may be getting Vetsulin carryover from one cycle into the next (e.g. 20 Aug). You're also getting quite early onset (+2) and late, low nadirs (riskily low for such a harsh insulin IMO). I'd recommend you seek advice from your vet and Vetsulin people here about dosing. I would recommend a very conservative approach giving insulin - especially for the next few days - until you get test data to determine whether Squallie has become super-sensitive to insulin after yesterday's severe hypo.

I'd also suggest considering another gentler, longer-acting insulin going forward.

My two penn'orth.

(Saoirse's muddling along, Lucy. Thank you for asking after her. :) )


Mogs
.
Thanks for the input! Obviously the vet and I are going to have a lot to discuss today. No rest, been up all night again, Khoji made the great escape, little brat, so I've been up all night waiting for him to come home :-(. That little man is too smart by far!
 
Oh no! :eek: Khoji, you're very, very bold! :rolleyes:

You must be absolutely banjaxed, Lucy.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

.
I really am. And I have a busy day today so no rest there, either. Good thing I'm used to running on no sleep! Khoji is very naughty to worry his Mom like this, the longer he is out the more I worry.
 
Oh, MY!!! Just now saw what you & Squallie have been going through - how scary for you! So I told Bat-Bat to cross her paws just like my fingers are crossed --- & we're wishing you & your dear kitty a MUCH better day today!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending kitty homing beacon vibes ....

(((Lucy)))

.
Thank you. I am just beside myself; he's still not home and I know he would be by now, if he was able to. Something must have happened to him, he would never miss two meals and be out this long. I am so terribly upset. And the vet said to give Squallie 7 units this morning and now he seems to me like he's dropping too low too fast. Sorry, don't mean to pule; I'm sure lack of sleep isn't helping. Well, at least my son is here today if I need to rush to the vet before Squll's appointment.
 
Oh, MY!!! Just now saw what you & Squallie have been going through - how scary for you! So I told Bat-Bat to cross her paws just like my fingers are crossed --- & we're wishing you & your dear kitty a MUCH better day today!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, we need all the good wishes we can get today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top