A commonly given dose here is 3 mg -5 mg.For Diabetic neuropathy, you specifically want methylcolbalamin. The other b12 that you find in stores is colbalamin which is used to treat pernicious anemia.
For cats, its Zolbaline
Zolbaline has less additives and is the better choice for cats.
However, I use Vitacost http://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitami ... s/?NttSR=1
The vitacost one has a trace amount of rice flour.
My cat was just starting to show signs of her rear legs getting weaker and she reversed completely after I put her on the Vitacost version. I like it because it's a capsule and easy to mix in her food.
"General" Guidelines:
•Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
•Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
•Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
•Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.