? BG going up/ziwipeak dry food

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
Hi All, I know it’s early days but Ruddy BG started on 6/5 at 21.8 today it’s 27.9. after changing to low carb Fancy Feast only and 1 unit x 2 daily of Lantus. I will attach his spreadsheet as I haven’t added it to my other cats one yet. Do I increase his dose yet? Also for the Aussies can I free feed ziwipeak dry food? The chicken in between meals without affecting BG. as he is hungry. Thankyou
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Pn83k8H9HXbkbyvqIdjyEhpz_E6Prtz6SbWufje931s/edit
 
2 diabetes kitties .. !!!
Pantera's numbers look good!
I'm not a dosing expert but for Ruddy, without the SS it's hard to say. Boiled chicken or freeze dried chicken is a good treat in between meals; as for the dry food, it's no good for Pantera and Ruddy; I have a civie only eating kibbles and I feed him on top of my kitchen cupboards.... my diabetes Ti-Mousse cannot get up there....!!!

Make sure to attach updated Rubby's SS so it will be easier to help you! @Bron and Sheba (GA) is one of our great experts !
 
How long has Ruddy been a diabetic? the SS says 6/7/20.
If he has only just started insulin, you need to hold the dose for a week to let the depot fill and stabilise.
Try and get a BG reading during all the cycle so we can see how low the dose is taking him.
and remember the pm cycle as well. Cats often drop lower at night.
What is the dry food you mention? Is it the freeze dried food?
 
The Ziwipeak air dried food used to be in the 8-9% carb range, but that was quite a few years ago. I don't know if the formulas have changed since then. Which protein were you thinking of?
 
I bought the ziwi peak chicken. I can't seem to reply to Bron message regarding Ruddy yes he just started lantus 6/7 I managed a +5hrs read today at 16.8 and I will try for an evening read. Ziwi peak is air dried chicken. I will keep it at 1unit for a week see how he travels.
 
The Ziwi Peak air dried chicken is 1% carbs.
Can you separate the two SS in your signature and label them with their names please to stop any confusion? Thanks,
 
Back
Top