BG going higher over last few days

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
Hi,

Junior's SS is not complete, I have been working on most recent and going backwards to fill it in...

This past weekend he started getting into the low 200's, he snuck some of his brothers food, which is dry, but low carb, 15%, only a mouthful, not a lot.

I am having no luck getting return calls from my vet by phone or e-mail, he eats 9 lives, Special kitty, and Friskies, all wet pates, off the janet & binky list.
I have started marking what kind of food and brand to see if that is what is causing it. He gets 1/2 can 2 x daily, with a snack at noon and 11.00pm before my bedtime. low carb snack.

In the beginning, he was over 500, slowly coming down with diet change, testing in the beginning was done with urine strips, and 1 unit Lantus insulin, I was so happy to see the 92, and scared too, but we made it, and now this...what should I do?

another test tonight, I am becoming much more adamant about testing am & pm....pls help me!
 
Kay, with Lantus, you need to get at least three tests a day--one before each shot, and one in the middle of the cycle, about 6 hours in. I know you have a lot going on right now, but it's hard to guess how the insulin is working without those daily numbers. Also, a curve once a week when you are able will also help a great deal to see what's going on. Without those mid cycle tests, it's impossible to tell whether the dose needs to be raised or lowered.

The preshot tests tell you if it's safe to shoot insulin, but the reason why you need those mid-cycle tests is because dosing adjustments with Lantus are determined by the nadir, or, the lowest number of the cycle.

I know how hard it can be to find time to test when there's a lot going on. I work two jobs and go to grad school, and I'm lucky if I have time to eat or sleep. Because I work all day long, I used to have to set an alarm to get up at 1am to get Bandit's mid-cycle test, and then go right back to sleep. It was a pain at first, but I was fine once it became routine. And it paid off big time when I was able to get Bandit off insulin because now we only test once a week.

So, is there any way you can work in some more tests, so that you're getting 3 or 4 in a day? Once you have those mid-cycle tests, you'll be able to determine what to do with his dose.
 
Hi Julia,

You always are there with the right words...

I will start setting mY alarm for midnight to test then, as during the day, I am at job #1 & #2, just make it home for 6.00pm.

I didn't update his ss yet today, but yesterday, @ 6am, amps was 208, pmps was 203, 2 hrs later he was @ 197.

this morning he was amps 197...I have started writing down flavor and brand of food too.

and will suck it up and lose some sleep for my little guy.

thanks again. and for the Breeze too!
 
Great that you can fit another test in! I would collect, and observe mid-cycle test numbers for 3-5 days (probably 5 since you're just starting out with them). If the nadirs stay consistently above the normal range after 5 days, then you'll want to think about increasing the dose by .25u.

Since different cats can have different nadir times, try and alternate the time of the mid-cycle test for a couple weeks, so you can figure out where juniors is. For example, move the late night test around between +5 and +7 so you can determine when the nadir seems to be occurring. Some cats can have it happen as early as +4, or as late as +8. Bandit was always around +6, but I was only able to figure that out after a little while.

What I always did was the amps, the pmps, a test before bed (usually a +3 or +4), and then a test at +6 or +7. On the weekends when I was able to test more, I did. The more data you collect, the better you'll be able to safely control Junior's numbers with dose adjustments. :smile:

Don't forget about the Lantus forum, too: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9. There's a ton of experienced people there who can give dosing advice when you need it once you have collected those daily mid-cycle numbers.

If the alarm thing seems tiring, don't give up. The first week I was exhausted, but after that I was literally doing the tests in my sleep. I would wake up in the morning in a panic that I hadn't woken up to get Bandit's test, and I'd check the meter and sure enough it'd be there. :-D I also made sure I fed Bandit right after the test. This was so A. I knew he would come running to me and I wouldn't have to hunt for him when he heard me get up at 1am, and B. If his number was in the 60s-90s I could go back to sleep knowing that he was unlikely to drop any lower with the food.
 
Will start tonite with midnight testing, and switch times around like you said!


I haven't gone to the lantus forum yet, I have done some reading on it, but no posts, I don't know enough, and my SS isn't finished yet....

but we are getting there!

thanks again.
 
Great! Your weekly curve should also give you a good picture for when his nadir usually is. I know that they recommend you have some data on board before they can give advice over in the Lantus forum, but as long as you're getting at least three tests in a day and a curve once a week, you should have enough data to start with. Right now I'd stick to the 1u while you're collecting some mid cycle tests--probably for about 5 days unless Junior drops too low (below 50). After that I'd go and ask for some advice on dose adjustments in the Lantus forum. Most likely you may need to increase the dose a little bit to 1.25u. Your syringes have half-unit marks, right? The stickies in the Lantus forum have pictures of what .25u looks like in your syringe.
 
I have markings for 1/2 unit, not 1/4 unit, which is what .25 woould be?

I will go back to the lantus forum and check out the sticky, I do remember seeing it, and how to fat it up or skinny it down....

but first will do more testing, and a complete curve. and will stay with 1 unit for now...still now response from his vet.

thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top