BG first time under 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zhigulin

Member Since 2023
Hi everybody again. So, it's the first time he returned a hypo value, 45. No symptoms but surprisingly hungry. Ate everything, dry food Purina Pro plan DM and Royal Canin with more carbs. After 40 mins he is at 59. Question is what dose shall I inject in the evening? Many thanks! Please also have a look at the SS.
 
Wow, that was a big drop from his amps. Did you feed or give snacks before the 45? I would keep testing and feeding until he’s over 80. It’s better to rub a few drops of honey on the gums along with HC carb food when you get a lower than 50 number. It acts faster to bring the bg up. I don’t like to use dry food because it takes longer to act and longer to leave their bodies. You also don’t want to overfeed so you can keep getting him to eat to continue to bring up the bg. A teaspoon or so of food is what we recommend every 30 minutes as you keep testing. He earned a reduction down to 1.25 tonight.
 
I've never used honey on my cat's gums and Gabby was notorious for fast dives. This post on handling low numbers will give you some guidance for low numbers. The post was written for those following Tight Regulation so adapt the numbers for SLGS.

I'd also make a request. You need more data. With SLGS, you need to test a minimum of 4 times per day. This includes your AMPS and PMPS and at least one test during both the AM and PM cycles. You have no data for the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. You have no idea how many dose reductions you may have missed.

Also, with SLGS, you need to get a curve (testing every 2 hours for a 12-hour period) on a weekly basis. You have no idea when Zigmund's low point (i.e., nadir) in the cycle occurs. You don't know when insulin onset is and whether to test earlier than mid-cycle in order to catch a drop in numbers.

It also looks like you've not been taking dose reductions. When your cat's numbers fall below 90, with SLGS that means you reduce the dose by 0.25u. It looks like your cat's dose could have been reduced on 7/17 and 7/22 and 8/17.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top