injuredrabbit
Member Since 2018
So this morning, 6 hours post-insulin (sorry IDK all the acronyms yet, it's overwhelming enough just to get the basics down!), Rufus's BG was at 200!! It was fluctuating between, usually, 300-400 ish, with a few mid- to high-200s thrown in to throw us both off. I have raised his dose from 1 unit to 1-1/4 or a teeny bit more because the lower dose didn't seem to be doing much for him.
Yesterday even though I didn't think I did a fur shot, I'm guessing I must have because his BG pre-insulin was 342, 6 hours later 357, and before 2nd shot up to 413! Did not do a BG before insulin this morning (BGBI?).
A kind kitty carer told me in a previous thread that it took him a while to get to this point and it will take a while for him to get back. Now with the help of the insulin (Vetsulin), he's getting back faster than he got here.
Have any of you had this experience where kitty actually seems to feel BETTER with high BG? At least at first. I'm thinking he's so used to it being high that having it in a normal place is a new, and not necessarily great, feeling for him.
FWIW, he's getting whatever canned he won't turn his nose up at (all <10% carbs per list), plus a few Greenies hairball treats every time he's poked, and recently started him on Dr. Elsey's because he was ADDICTED to kibble. Mixed in a little of the Indigo Moon to get the scent in there but he seems to be taking to the Dr. Elsey's pretty well.
Sorry my posts are always so long!!
Yesterday even though I didn't think I did a fur shot, I'm guessing I must have because his BG pre-insulin was 342, 6 hours later 357, and before 2nd shot up to 413! Did not do a BG before insulin this morning (BGBI?).
A kind kitty carer told me in a previous thread that it took him a while to get to this point and it will take a while for him to get back. Now with the help of the insulin (Vetsulin), he's getting back faster than he got here.
Have any of you had this experience where kitty actually seems to feel BETTER with high BG? At least at first. I'm thinking he's so used to it being high that having it in a normal place is a new, and not necessarily great, feeling for him.
FWIW, he's getting whatever canned he won't turn his nose up at (all <10% carbs per list), plus a few Greenies hairball treats every time he's poked, and recently started him on Dr. Elsey's because he was ADDICTED to kibble. Mixed in a little of the Indigo Moon to get the scent in there but he seems to be taking to the Dr. Elsey's pretty well.
Sorry my posts are always so long!!