kburrall
Member Since 2017
Hi all,
We've been managing our cat Chaos's diabetes for many months now. He was initially stabilized and very tightly controlled at 2 units (BG in the 100's all day). His internist left her practice and the next closest one is quite a drive away, and we'll need to do it but poor guy HATES the car. So, in the interim we've been self-managing based on what we learned with the internist.
A couple of months ago we noticed high readings in our spot checks. We figure this has to do with him gaining back a couple of pounds (he had gotten skinny when he first got sick), so we began to increase his dose in half-unit increments. His last few curves are confusing to me, though. He used to have such standard bowl-shaped curves.
On 6/26 he had a standard bowl-shaped curve but with a nadir at +3hrs. (270 pre-food pre-shot, 251 at +3hrs, 291 at +6hrs). That was at 2.5u. Given our internists comments in the past, this all still seemed too high, so we upped him to 3u.
On 6/29 (after about 2 full days of 3 units), he had a mountain-shaped curve (137 pre-food pre-shot, 304 at +3hrs, 283 at +6hrs, 290 at +8hrs, 227 at +12hrs). I didn't put too much thought into this one since our internist had always said to wait 2 weeks to adjust to a new dose before curving, this was more just to make sure he wasn't going hypo.
On 7/12 (today), his curve was quite flat until evening. Pre-food pre-shot he was 229, then 217 at +3hrs, then 278 at +6hrs, then 407 (!!) at +12hrs (before food and shot at night). Again it seems like he may be nadiring early at 3 hrs. My question is: does this seem like insulin resistance? Insufficient insulin? Or insulin metabolism that's too fast? I guess there's even the possibility of a Somogyi type thing going on, though I've never measured him low or seen any hypo symptoms.
I probably need to do a real curve of 12 hrs at 2-hour increments... it's just that he hates getting pricked so much. Thanks for any input!
We've been managing our cat Chaos's diabetes for many months now. He was initially stabilized and very tightly controlled at 2 units (BG in the 100's all day). His internist left her practice and the next closest one is quite a drive away, and we'll need to do it but poor guy HATES the car. So, in the interim we've been self-managing based on what we learned with the internist.
A couple of months ago we noticed high readings in our spot checks. We figure this has to do with him gaining back a couple of pounds (he had gotten skinny when he first got sick), so we began to increase his dose in half-unit increments. His last few curves are confusing to me, though. He used to have such standard bowl-shaped curves.
On 6/26 he had a standard bowl-shaped curve but with a nadir at +3hrs. (270 pre-food pre-shot, 251 at +3hrs, 291 at +6hrs). That was at 2.5u. Given our internists comments in the past, this all still seemed too high, so we upped him to 3u.
On 6/29 (after about 2 full days of 3 units), he had a mountain-shaped curve (137 pre-food pre-shot, 304 at +3hrs, 283 at +6hrs, 290 at +8hrs, 227 at +12hrs). I didn't put too much thought into this one since our internist had always said to wait 2 weeks to adjust to a new dose before curving, this was more just to make sure he wasn't going hypo.
On 7/12 (today), his curve was quite flat until evening. Pre-food pre-shot he was 229, then 217 at +3hrs, then 278 at +6hrs, then 407 (!!) at +12hrs (before food and shot at night). Again it seems like he may be nadiring early at 3 hrs. My question is: does this seem like insulin resistance? Insufficient insulin? Or insulin metabolism that's too fast? I guess there's even the possibility of a Somogyi type thing going on, though I've never measured him low or seen any hypo symptoms.
I probably need to do a real curve of 12 hrs at 2-hour increments... it's just that he hates getting pricked so much. Thanks for any input!

. It really isn't torture. Once again, I mean no offense with this statement but you may be stressing him out because you have yourself worked up. Kitties are little sponges that can pick up and feed off our emotions. [/quote]
So I try my best to soften my responses