Laura Nels
Member Since 2015
Vivian's BG yesterday a.m. was 81 so I didn't give insulin. Numbers later in the day were 123, 125, 124 so I ended up not giving insulin in the evening either. She gets spooked by blood testing and I wasn't sure how much she would eat...I'm also still not really clear about when to give and when to withhold insulin. The advice given by posters, the frequently asked questions here, and my vet are all different. Anyway, this morning she was at 134 so I gave her the regular .25U - I already know what that is going to do, by +4 hours her BG is going to be way down in the 40's or lower. I think I am learning that I should push food on her at +3 hours. Today I am home and I can do that. Normally I am not home and can't tend to her during the day and in the night when her numbers go low. Does she need less than .25U if her numbers are going that low and I can't be around to push food? Given that she was back up to 134 this morning it doesn't appear she is in remission. I did email this info to her vet and will receive advice within a couple hours, but this vet told me to take her off insulin after one week because she was going so low at +4. She thought Vivian was already in remission, she wasn't - her BG climbed into the 200's, she began peeing a lot, so the vet said put her back on original dose. I was the one who put her on half the original dose, which she is on now. The point is this is a busy primary care vet and not a diabetes specialist, her advice is not always the best, but she is open to my researched ideas. That's why I am asking here if further reduction, such as 1/8U is advisable. I'd have to find a better way to measure, the vet has offered sterile water, not sure how that works. Of note also is that Vivian is transitioning to lower carb food and tapering from pred, both of which should lower her #'s naturally.
thank you
Laura
thank you
Laura
