BG back up, only 122...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zinda

Member Since 2011
Splitzie only got .25u of Lantus this morning, and at 4 hours after her shot her BG was only 40. At the 10 hour mark it was still only 41. She is eating, but not like she used to. I'm afraid to give her her shot tonight. I don't want it to go real low tonight.
Please help

Kathy and Splitzie
 
Re: Low sugars... PM shot?

Do NOT shoot the 40s. I have a lot more data and I don't shoot in the 40s.

Were you feeding Splitzie when you got a reading in the 40s? You might want to read this post on low numbers.

How about getting a test in 30 min?
 
Re: Low sugars... PM shot?

Hi Kathy, I would skip the shot tonight and get a +11 and post it tomorrow morning, together with a question about whether (and what dose) to shoot. You don't want to fool around with these low numbers.

Ella

p.s. I see that Sienne is giving you advice. Please follow it! You're in good hands with Sienne.
 
Re: Low sugars... PM shot?

Yes, the 15th was the last shot she had til this morning. I had read about nothing 200 under so didn't want to chance it. I'm diabetic myself and know how scary it can be to feel what an insulin reaction is like, don't really want to do that to her.
She has been eating a bit today. We have some Fancy Feast, and she's been doing pretty good on it. When I tested her at 40, I even let her have some of our other cats' food (using up the last before switching them all to a better diet) which is Meow Mix. I was told it's high carb, so was hoping that would help her.
Ok, thanks for getting back to me so quick. It's really nice to have people to count on. You're all wonderful people. Will post again in another 20 minutes with her next test result. Fingers are crossed that it's going up.
 
Re: Low sugars... PM shot?

Rather than using dry food, it's best to use a gravy based canned food (e.g., Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties). There are any number of HC that are on Janet & Binky's list. Dry takes far too long to raise numbers and it takes a long time to leave a cat's system.

I would encourage you to test more often when your cat is in low numbers. In the 40s, you don't have room for numbers to drop much lower. If a cat is going to surf in lower numbers, it's best to be in the 50s or 60s.
 
Re: Low sugars... PM shot?

Just tested Splitzie again, she's finally back up to 122. Should I still not give her a shot tonight?
This morning when I gave her the .25 it was at 173, I thought that would be safe.
I will have to pick up some of the gravy foods. She won't eat the meat out of the gravy ones. Yes, she's stubborn. She will drink every bit of the gravy, but the chunks of food are left behind, the only way to get her to eat is the pate. But, for these situations I have no problem letting her clean out the gravy and giving the other cats the meat.

Again, thanks so much. :-)
 
How many hours are you past PMPS? Did you feed Splitzie at all?

Also, with those numbers today, Splitzie's dose should be lowered. Can you shoot less than 0.25u? If you look at the pictures of the syringes in the New to the Group sticky, you'll see what 0.1u looks like.

As for the chunks in the gravy food, they are irrelevant. The carbs are in the gravy. You can put gravy on LC food in order to bring numbers up and encourage a surf.
 
Just looked at the pictures again. I can give it a try. I'm used to setting up needles, but with MUCH more than that in it. Will try the .1 in the am. I've also been trying to get in touch with the vet again about some test results that were done last week, so will talk to him about her dose at the same time.
Thanks everyone for helping get me and Splitzie through her first lows with me.

Kathy and Splitzie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top