Re: BG at 497 and rising with 2.5 hours to go before next sh
Hi Ellie,
EllieKozak said:
Are there any drawbacks to using Lantus
Most folks here find that Lantus works best if dosed 12 hours apart, and a dose is held for a time to see the full effect of it.
Lantus is a 'depot' insulin (there's info about that in the Stickies in the Lantus forums). It's
probable that Charlie would get better duration from it.
With Prozinc/PZI it's possible to be flexible with the timing of the shots, and also with the dosage. (It can be dosed according to a sliding scale if that suits the cat.)
There are two Lantus forums here at FDMB.
The 'Lantus TR' forum is for those using an established Protocol to try to keep their cats tightly regulated. This can require quite a bit of testing to do well, so doesn't suit everyone. But there is an understanding (I've not seen the data so can't provide it) that cats on tight regulation protocols have a greater chance of remission.
The 'Relaxed Lantus' forum is for those who aren't following the TR Protocol. The 'Start Low Go Slow' (SLGS) approach is often used there. The 'Relaxed' forum also sees it's share of remissions.
It may also be the case that Charlie's response to Prozinc improves
over time. He certainly can respond well to it on occasion. Sometimes it takes a little while for the newly diagnosed cat's body to 'learn to utilise' an insulin ('Glucose toxicity' may be a factor here). Although his duration from the Prozinc seems to be shorter than is typical at the moment, it's
possible that the duration could increase.
(I'm sorry, I don't feel I've been at all helpful!!!)
EllieKozak said:
..and if he should switch over, is it done gradually
Because of the duration you're currently getting with Prozinc it seems to me that it should be possible to just switch insulins at normal shot time.
EllieKozak said:
His doctors have mentioned on a few occasions that being so young that there is a good chance that he could go into remission.
We don't see very many young diabetic cats here, so I don't know if it's
more likely that a young cat will go into remission (and I guess that may depend on why the young cat became diabetic in the first place?) There is another member here with a cat who became diabetic very young, Kpassa (and her cat Mikey (not in remission (yet!)).
Chin up, sweetie, it's still very 'early days'...
Eliz