BG at 136 before food and vet tech is saying give 2 units anyway.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea M.

Member Since 2016
Last night and tonight Sweet Pea's BG has been in the normal range before her evening meal. Last night I checked again at insulin time and it hadn't really changed. I didn't give insulin because the vet had told us not to give insulin when she is under 200. 2 hrs later I checked and she had shot up to 449. I called the vet tech at home and she said to give only half her normal dose of insulin since it was almost 2 hrs past her normal insulin time. Tonight she was at 136 before food so I called vet and was told to give 2 units anyway by the vet tech. I'm terrified to put her in hypo. What should I do. It is now a half hour past insulin time and she is only at 170.
 
Last night and tonight Sweet Pea's BG has been in the normal range before her evening meal. Last night I checked again at insulin time and it hadn't really changed. I didn't give insulin because the vet had told us not to give insulin when she is under 200. 2 hrs later I checked and she had shot up to 449. I called the vet tech at home and she said to give only half her normal dose of insulin since it was almost 2 hrs past her normal insulin time. Tonight she was at 136 before food so I called vet and was told to give 2 units anyway by the vet tech. I'm terrified to put her in hypo. What should I do. It is now a half hour past insulin time and she is only at 170.


What type of insulin are you using? What type of meter are you using... human or pet?

When new to treating diabetes it is suggested not to shoot under 200 until you have a lot of data as to how your kitty responds to the insulin. Without seeing more test results it is hard to say if Sweet Pea is going low during the cycle and "bouncing" back up into higher numbers because of that.

If you are home-testing it would be very helpful both for you and people giving advice, if you could set up a spreadsheet with the testing numbers. This link gives information on setting up a spreadsheet:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

If you need help just ask..I had to get help when I first set mine up.

In the meantime my suggestion would be to skip the shot. Sweet Pea's numbers will likely go up, but it is always better to be safe until you have more data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top