BG and Dosing Advice/Thoughts

Status
Not open for further replies.

cab

Member Since 2021
Hi,
I wanted to post to get thoughts on dosing before I speak to my vet. What's been happening:
1. My vet told me not to shoot if her numbers were below 250. (using Alpha Trak)
2. Food Switch & Disruption: On Sunday, I started process of switching her to wet canned food- right now she is really only liking Fancy Feast beef. She's been on Purina one dry and Purina DM mix 50/50. On Tuesday I was trying for 50/50 wet to dry but...
I live in Texas & we lost power Sun night/Mon morning; so that started causing issues- with interrupted power, we had to go to hotel on Tuesday afternoon and cat, scared, didn't eat- did take licks of wet food ,but really didn't eat. As such I didn't want to shoot her insulin. Returned her home Wed. afternoon, and she ate a little of wet and dry. You can see on Wed night, her BG was 92. Thursday, I was at 50/50 wet to dry; gave her wet in morning (with a little dry), wet in afternoon. Evening she had some wet, but more dry food. You can see she was in blue ranges. With dry at night I guess i wasn't surprised to see her number back to 200. But I think this shows her BG is going down with the wet. I may try to do 75 wet to 25% dry today.

Because of storm my vet has been closed. We discussed how I was switching to wet, and he wanted me to stay at 1 unit of Lantus and then I was supposed to check in with him this week. I plan to call the vet shortly to see if I can get his advice (if open). I am still not all the way to wet food yet, and hope we are successful by Monday.
I don't know what to do. I was thinking of asking to start at .25 or .5 units while in this transition to see what he thinks. I like my vet but don't know how he'll react to these part doses. (He originally wanted to start at 2 u, but I asked we start at 1).

Thanks so much,
Cecily
 
Wow, these are awesome numbers, esp. for an alphatrak! I totally agree that with the food change the 1u dose may be too high. So glad you are testing... because with 2 units you might have really been in trouble. I suspect your cat will be quickly regulated by just food. I agree with your vet not to shoot with lower preshots We usually say not shot under 200. I think over 200 I might do 0.5 if you can monitor, but let me tag some lantus people. It looks like 1 unit might have been bringing her down a little too low.

@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
With 200 if able to monitor I would shoot ordinarily. However with a food change she might become diet controlled and we need to determine a safe dose. Let’s see what happens today and PMPS. Get a test 3-4 hours after PMBG. If going down the pancreas might be starting to come alive. Would you please post tonight at PMPS on the Lantus forum and link this. Write today’s date, Maggie Dosing advice needed in the subject. What time do you shoot? You can post both places if you want.
 
Wow, these are awesome numbers, esp. for an alphatrak! I totally agree that with the food change the 1u dose may be too high. So glad you are testing... because with 2 units you might have really been in trouble. I suspect your cat will be quickly regulated by just food. I agree with your vet not to shoot with lower preshots We usually say not shot under 200. I think over 200 I might do 0.5 if you can monitor, but let me tag some lantus people. It looks like 1 unit might have been bringing her down a little too low.

@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
thank you for your suggestions..and thanks for tagging others!
 
With 200 if able to monitor I would shoot ordinarily. However with a food change she might become diet controlled and we need to determine a safe dose. Let’s see what happens today and PMPS. Get a test 3-4 hours after PMBG. If going down the pancreas might be starting to come alive. Would you please post tonight at PMPS on the Lantus forum and link this. Write today’s date, Maggie Dosing advice needed in the subject. What time do you shoot? You can post both places if you want.
Thank you. I can post on Lantus forum, but will it be obvious how to link to this thread? I haven't posted much in forums and never have tried linking. I usually shoot at 7:00 central time.
 
You just copy the url and paste it. If you can’t do it I will link it for you. The most experienced Lantus users post there and since it’s only for depot insulins you will get more eyes on your condos. I will be on the lookout. You can actually start one now if you want. On that forum we ask for one condo a day so they don’t get too long.
 
Hi Cecily,

With eating a little hit 'n' miss, the carb load in flux, BG levels already showing marked improvement, and potential weather-related issues that might make it problematic to get to a vet if one were needed, I'd suggest adopting a somewhat extra-cautious approach to insulin dosing at this time.


Mogs
.
 
You just copy the url and paste it. If you can’t do it I will link it for you. The most experienced Lantus users post there and since it’s only for depot insulins you will get more eyes on your condos. I will be on the lookout. You can actually start one now if you want. On that forum we ask for one condo a day so they don’t get too long.
Thank you. I will try it tonight when I take her pmps, around 7:00 ct.
 
Hi Cecily,

With eating a little hit 'n' miss, the carb load in flux, BG levels already showing marked improvement, and potential weather-related issues that might make it problematic to get to a vet if one were needed, I'd suggest adopting a somewhat extra-cautious approach to insulin dosing at this time.


Mogs
.
Thank you. You hit on all my concerns. That's how I am feeling about it as well. My vet isn't available until Monday, though the vet tech took my info and said he would see if he could get some input from the vet. But I think it will be next Tuesday before I speak with him. Right now, they were saying just keep monitoring.
 
Thank you. You hit on all my concerns. That's how I am feeling about it as well. My vet isn't available until Monday, though the vet tech took my info and said he would see if he could get some input from the vet. But I think it will be next Tuesday before I speak with him. Right now, they were saying just keep monitoring.
You’re not alone. We are here for ya. :)
 
You just copy the url and paste it. If you can’t do it I will link it for you. The most experienced Lantus users post there and since it’s only for depot insulins you will get more eyes on your condos. I will be on the lookout. You can actually start one now if you want. On that forum we ask for one condo a day so they don’t get too long.
Hi I also meant to ask what does "condo" means? :) Also, it is ok to post on the Lantus forum? I posted before and they recommended I stay here as the Lantus forum is, I understand, for more advanced questions?
I really appreciate you and everyone here.
Thanks!
 
Threads here are referred to as condos. Who told you not to post on Lantus? Absolutely not true. On Lantus you will get lots of experienced people watching you and helping. I’m going to ask you to add a few things to your signature. Add your cat’s age, what food you feed, what meter you use and any medication she takes or other health issues. I for one will keep an eye on you on the Lantus board. Ask as many questions as you have. Someone will always answer. We all started not knowing anything. The yellow stickies at the top of the forum have lots of information and will leave you with more questions. The only thing I would like you to decide is which method you will follow. That can change at any time but dosing advice depends upon that. So read up and come join us whenever you are ready.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top