BG 87 - do i dose??

MaxwellSilverhammer

Member Since 2019
My cat is recovering from dka, pancreatitis and acidosis over last weekend. He is doing really well and today his earlier checks were in the 200's, but this one is 87. This is when I usually give him his insulin. Do I give it to him? or do I wait and recheck tomorrow morning? And I, of course, ran out of testing strips so I can't recheck his level in 20 minutes. Please advise. Thank you!!
 
I would stall, do not feed, and run out the door to the closest pharmacy to buy strips. Then test when you get back,
 
PS with recent DKA you do not want to skip. Are you testing daily for urinary ketones? If not, pick up a container of ketostix at the pharmacy.
 
Did you shoot tonight?

Have you picked a dosing method to use yet? If you have, and you are following SLGS, he earned a reduction down to 1.75 units as his new dose,
 
I gave him 1 unit last night. He's doing great today. I have been doing the dose that the vet tells me to and I am waiting for her response. I didn't think to figure it out on my own. But now I will spend today doing some research to learn about SLGS. Thank you!
 
Back
Top