Bg 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

yygms1978

Member Since 2016
Cody is normally in the 200s to 300s. He was at 223 before I shot this morning . 2 units of lantus. 5 hours later he was at 66. So I freaked and made sure he ate. He was acting ok but he did vomit after the shot. Should I not have shot at 223??? I have been slowly introducing more wet food since he's been eating low carb kiddle.please advise
 
Cody is currently at a perfectly safe number so breathe!

You did exactly what you should have done. Get him to eat. As long as he is keeping food down now and no further vomiting, he should be fine. Shooting at a reading of 223 is no problem but if they vomit after eating and their shot, that could account for that lower unexpected number.

Are you using a pet or human meter? You need to make sure he does not go below 68 on a pet meter or below 50 on a human meter. Removing the kibble could also be having an effect on his BG numbers. Test again in a half hour to make sure he is still holding or rising. If he is now a little more than 5 hours post shot, he may be at the lowest point in this cycle or just at the start of it, so I'd just keep an eye on him for the next 2 or 3 hours at which point he'll probably be starting to rise again.

It would be very helpful if you could set up a spreadsheet so that we can help you more effectively. The instructions are HERE and if you need any assistance, just holler and someone will set up the sheet for you and then turn ownership over to you.
 
As you continue to introduce more wet food and less kibble, you will need to monitor Cody more closely and more frequently as the change to low carb wet food can make a significant change to BG numbers and his insulin dose will almost certainly need to be reduced.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom -

Linda, with the 66 earlier on the Alphatrak shouldn't that qualify for a dose reduction starting from the next cycle?


Mogs

ETA: Just popped in briefly so probably won't see a reply till tomorrow (I'm not very well).
.
 
Last edited:
@Critter Mom You are right Mogs. That 66 would qualify for a dose reduction. :oops: Should have caught that! Take care of yourself. We obviously need you!

@yygms1978 Tonight's dose should be reduced by 0.25u so if the current dose is 2u then tonight's should be 1.75u. I am not sure if you are following Start Low Go Slow or Tight Regulation or neither but a dose reduction tonight would be the safe thing to do.
 
Im just seeing this now...thank you for responding! I did not reduce the shot. I did check his bg before the shot and he was in the high 200s by that time of night.
 
can you explain why i would have to reduce the shot if his numbers pre shot were high 2s low 3s?
 
The dose of Lantus is not based on pre-shot numbers. It is based on how low the dose takes Cody. The pre-shots are important to know if it's safe to give insulin and to help paint a picture of how well the insulin dose is working when taken together with other readings, but it's the lowest reading of the cycles that dictate dose.
 
Yes that lower number could have been influenced by the vomiting but it could also be partly because of the addition of the wet food and less dry. Better to err on the side of caution especially as you make the transition to a wet diet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top