BG 57, Legs Shaking, Difficulty Walking

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd feed him some more, then. We usually try to be restrained when feeding in these circumstances (to keep them a little hungry in case we need them to eat later on), and normally we wouldn't be feeding carbs at these numbers, but I don't like the leg shaking symptom at all. This may be an every cat is different situation-- it's rare for cats to show hypo symptoms at these BG numbers, but that certainly sounds like what is going on.
 
Okay, will do. Grateful this happened on a day when I am home with nowhere to be. Seeing his little legs shaking was so scary :( I am endlessly grateful for the support this place provides.

Good catch.

I know you have it noted on your spreadsheet and your post, but once the concern has passed, you may want to also update the meter in your signature to say ReliOn instead of Alphatrak.

Thanks for catching that, I got it updated. I noticed his dose was outdated too.
 
Seeing his little legs shaking was so scary :(

Oh, I have no doubt. But you are right, at least now you know, and you have more data going forward. Namely, you'll have to consider whether your BG "take action" number needs to be a little bit higher for Charleston. Because it is unusual to have any kind of symptoms with a BG 57, but if his legs really are fine, and stay fine, once his BG is higher...then you may have to start to intervene sooner than most of us.

You are doing great :bighug:
 
Thanks everybody! Yes, definitely good to know he's got a lower threshold than many cats. I've been checking him and he's consistently headed back up.

Looks like under the Prozinc dosing methods, he also earned another .25U dose reduction. Is that correct? I just reduced his dose yesterday after his BG was 89, so it feels weird to reduce it again so quickly.
 
Each cat is different and each time can be different. That is why numbers below 50 (68 on an AlphaTrak) are taken seriously whether a cat is showing symptoms or not.
Of course. I was giving an example of that precisely. My cat didn’t show symptoms at 48 and hers did at a higher number so it’s even more important for her to watch for those lower numbers :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top