BG 57 at +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Valentina

Member Since 2021
Please help

I was away for the weekend and didn’t measure Lilli’s BG and my parents gave her injections.

Now she’s at 57 +2! I gave her 1 can of high carb food and some kibbles.

should I give her honey?
 
Unfortunately without much data I can't be of much help. The can and kibble was probably an overcorrection but better safe than sorry. Continue to test every 30 mins til she's rising on her own after 2 hours without food.

I'll post more guidance in a minute you can take down the 911
 
Yes I think I overcorrected but this never happened to me so as said better safe than sorry...

Just retested her and she’s at 70 (after c. 40 minutes from the 57 measurement)
 
We have two dosing methods here, the one you follow determines how you intervene and with what food. Since you aren't technically following either or testing much, I'll assume the conservative one.

First - aim to keep her in the 90s range. 50s are still safe you just don't want to go much lower. We usually do 1-2 tsp food at a time, you want to keep them hungry if they continue to drop later. Below 40 is HC and karo/honey, 40-49 is usually just wet HC, 50s generally MC, 60s and above we try not to intervene too much, but LC is fine. Without a lot of data/knowing how her cycles go, HC is ok this early (I'd have just started with 2vtsp and no kibble)

Depending how the cycle plays out, you may need skip or do token dose tonight. Regardless, you need to reduce your dose by 0.25U minimum.

Have there been any food changes recently?

Please do start getting at least 4 tests per day - each preshot value (should be fasting for 2 hrs prior), and then at least one midcycle test for each cycle.
 
Yes I think I overcorrected but this never happened to me so as said better safe than sorry...

Just retested her and she’s at 70 (after c. 40 minutes from the 57 measurement)
Ok that's actually not as much of a bump as is expect. It's not bad, it just means you'll have to keep an eye on her for next few hours. For now, no food if she's 60 or higher. You may have a bit to nadir still and may need her to eat more again.

How big was the can you gave?
 
I think your shot time falls during a dead time on the board (lot of us are US and that's 5/6am). So, if in doubt, skip the next shot if there's no history of ketones/DKA.
 
Ok that's actually not as much of a bump as is expect. It's not bad, it just means you'll have to keep an eye on her for next few hours. For now, no food if she's 60 or higher. You may have a bit to nadir still and may need her to eat more again.

How big was the can you gave?

It was 85 grams.. I will retest at 23:30 and skip tomorrow’s morning dose. That would be 9 am CET, so for the US I guess it would be around 2 am
 
We have two dosing methods here, the one you follow determines how you intervene and with what food. Since you aren't technically following either or testing much, I'll assume the conservative one.

First - aim to keep her in the 90s range. 50s are still safe you just don't want to go much lower. We usually do 1-2 tsp food at a time, you want to keep them hungry if they continue to drop later. Below 40 is HC and karo/honey, 40-49 is usually just wet HC, 50s generally MC, 60s and above we try not to intervene too much, but LC is fine. Without a lot of data/knowing how her cycles go, HC is ok this early (I'd have just started with 2vtsp and no kibble)

Depending how the cycle plays out, you may need skip or do token dose tonight. Regardless, you need to reduce your dose by 0.25U minimum.

Have there been any food changes recently?

Please do start getting at least 4 tests per day - each preshot value (should be fasting for 2 hrs prior), and then at least one midcycle test for each cycle.

Thank you so much. I was testing a lot, I just didn’t post the values in the spreadsheet but will do it now so you can see them.

I was testing a lot when transitioning to a new diet and as I was seeing her numbers were going down, but her cycles were always super flat so after a while I stopped getting as many tests.

as said, her cycles have been very flat and I really think she’s producing insulin on her own because at the beginning of her diagnosis 1 unit wasn’t affecting her BG at all. Now after 3 months she’s always in the blues and greens.

I will bring her to the vet tomorrow in any case as a check up
 
I don't think you need to take her to vet. These are perfectly good numbers!

I'd see how she does the rest of the cycle before deciding to skip. It may be better to do something like 0.25U but hard to say
 
I don't think you need to take her to vet. These are perfectly good numbers!

I'd see how she does the rest of the cycle before deciding to skip. It may be better to do something like 0.25U but hard to say

let’s see about the cycle.. just retested and now she’s at 86. I think she usually hits nadir at +6
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top