BG 513 and only five test strips left

Status
Not open for further replies.

shelaghc

Very Active Member
Totally out of the blue, Jester's BG shot up to 513 this morning.

I gave him his usual 2U,and he's eating the lowest carb food in the place right now - FF Turkey.

Because I only have five test strips - expecting more tomorrow - I am limited on how often I can test his BG during the day.

Emailed the vet and am waiting for him to get back to me. But it *is* a Sunday morning.

Planning to test him again after four hours.

Any insights or suggestions?

Should I just chill and wait for that four hour point? I have lots of comfort foods on hand.....
 
It's possible he went too low last night and is bouncing up this morning. Any chance he got into some high carb food?
 
yes, wait for the four hour.... There's not much that can be done about the high number except wait for it to come down. Now if you said he was hypoing and you only had 4 strips that would be concerning. A day of high numbers isn't going to do much harm.
 
It's possible he went too low last night and is bouncing up this morning. Any chance he got into some high carb food?
Not a chance. I don't have any dry food anywhere they could get to it. (I keep some just for emergencies.)

It's in a back hallway. Unless one of them grew opposable thumbs during the night, they ain't getting into that. *g*
 
yes, wait for the four hour.... There's not much that can be done about the high number except wait for it to come down. Now if you said he was hypoing and you only had 4 strips that would be concerning. A day of high numbers isn't going to do much harm.
It's just that he's never been this high - not even the day he was diagnosed.

Is it possible he got heavily stressed because I shut all three of them out of my bedroom last night? I haven't had a lot of sleep lately and Bastian was digging into clutter in the bedroom keeping me awake. I almost never close them out of my room, but I really needed to get some real sleep last night.

Would something like that drive up his BG?
 
Well, since he started so high, there is probably no chance of him going too low during the cycle, so if you do not have enough strips, you could get by with skipping the mid-cycle test this time. I would want to do it because I like to have as much data as possible, but I am just pointing out that you do not have to do a test this cycle for safety sake since the risk of going to low really is probably not there. Really, your '911s' occur when the number is going too low, not when it is high.

It is possible, like Janet said, that he went too low last night and the high number today is the result of a 'bounce'. 2 u may be too high of a dose to be giving on pre-shots in the 200s. Once you have more data, you will be better able to see what is going on. Also, doing the curve will give you a better idea of when the lowest point in the cycle usually is (not that it cannot vary). I see that you do not test at +6. That is usually when I do my mid-cycle test because it is the true mid-point in the cycle. I have seen Mia's lowest point occur anywhere from +4 to +8, but most of the time, it is right about +6, so that is the time I usually chose if I am doing one mid-cycle test.
 
It is possible, like Janet said, that he went too low last night and the high number today is the result of a 'bounce'. 2 u may be too high of a dose to be giving on pre-shots in the 200s. Once you have more data, you will be better able to see what is going on. Also, doing the curve will give you a better idea of when the lowest point in the cycle usually is (not that it cannot vary).
The vet set Jester's insulin at 2U because he's been running high - in the mid 300 to high 400 range. I've been keeping him apprised of Jester's numbers since he dipped down to 153 on Friday evening.

Frankly, I had planned for a curve this weekend, but because I didn't realize how few I had until I started extra testing on Friday.

I see that you do not test at +6. That is usually when I do my mid-cycle test because it is the true mid-point in the cycle. I have seen Mia's lowest point occur anywhere from +4 to +8, but most of the time, it is right about +6, so that is the time I usually chose if I am doing one mid-cycle test.

The four to five hour is when the vet usually wants Jester's numbers. It's hard to shift that during most of the week because the only time I can check his BG on MWF is during that four to five hour window - on my lunch break. Once I have more test strips I can shift testing to Tuesdays and Thursdays.

I'm still new to testing on my own.
 
Just checked - at the six hour mark, he's at 246, at least two hours since he's eaten.

I'll check him again before his evening shot too.

Any thoughts on what I should do for his shot at that point depending upon his numbers?
 
Just checked - at the six hour mark, he's at 246, at least two hours since he's eaten.

I'll check him again before his evening shot too.

Any thoughts on what I should do for his shot at that point depending upon his numbers?
lets see what the numbers are. If the preshot is is around 200 you may reduce it slightly (1.5 maybe?). Otherwise 2 units is probably good... but you should really post your preshot tonight on the prozinc boards and see what the prozinc users say. I'm no expert on dosing Prozinc. Make sure to mention you are looking for dosing help in the title.
 
Thanks - I did post, but after more than an hour, no one has responded.

Mind you, I won't absolutely need recommendations until about 9:00PM. It would just be reassuring to have some ideas before that.
 
Ok, so your shot time is 9... If you decided to go ahead and shoot a 2 on a yellow preshot (should he get a yellow preshot) then try to get a +3 or 4 so you have an idea of what the cycle is doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top