BG 51---reduce shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
Buddy is 51 at +6...wondering if it's best to reduce shot this PM, even though I know he
will rebound and have high #'s? Thanks.
 
Seriously?

I do not want to reply to this. I am not going to advise you. Just a general response:

After a low in a "bouncy" cat, the next PS could be high - higher than the PS before the low (In this case we don't know because there is no PS number). In such a case, I used to shoot the 'old' dose on the high PS, and then reduce at the next shot, which will often be a lower PS. Obviously, if the PS after the low is NOT high, I would reduce then instead. And I would hold the reduction for a minimum of 3 days - often longer - before deciding to change the dose again.

I want to believe that you will stick with 12/12 no matter what.
 
"Seriously"? not sure what you meant, but your reply makes me not feel safe to ask for the help I need from this board.
If you don't want to reply, then don't, but snide comments not appreciated.
I was not sure which shot would be best to reduce.Some say under 40, some say 50, some say next shot , or the one after.
I'm trying to do evreything right this time, so I asked.
(The PS #is missing because he was 365 at +10.5, so i know he was higher at +12...I'm trying to save his ears).
 
Hi Marcy -

You've been at this a while, but I didn't see on your spreadsheet when you started on Lev. Initially I was a little reluctant to switch from ProZinc because I knew the L insulins were not going to be as flexible - and my schedule can be pretty crazy sometimes. Depending on your schedule, it can be difficult to shoot at the same time every day. For me, the 6:30 am/pm is the time I'm most able to catch. I try not to veer off that schedule by more than 15 minutes per cycle.

I'm curious - are you shooting the number, so it doesn't climb? Or is your schedule such that you're unable to shoot consistently? Is there another time that would work better for your schedule? I know Libby & Doug shoot Hershey at 2 or 3 am/pm. I know I could NEVER keep that schedule, but it works because of Doug's job. It also gives them the opportunity to get a fair amount of sleep before the onset (and in his case, catch any lows).

Grayson has Acromegaly and Insulin Resistance (IAA) - conditions that mean extreme high doses. But for the most part, I've seen him come down from a 50 pt range starting at 450 on PZI, to 100+ point ranges starting primarily at 300-325. In order get a clear picture of his response, it's important to keep as many of the variables that we can control, as consistent as possible, including the length of the cycle. That allows you to see their patterns and be able to make the best decisions possible for their treatment.

I"m still doing increases, so I've got zero experience with reductions. It might be helpful to look over some others' spreadsheets to see how they handled similar numbers. After all, that's part of why we do them, right?

Good luck,
Lu-Ann
 
thanks for that input---i am shooting Buddy regularly at 12/12 now ,
i was shooting early to get him lower, not because of scheduling difficultites.
Hopeing for the best for my buddy, and yours too.
 
On ProZinc that worked. Kim used to shoot Kitty TID. If she went more than 8 hours, the insulin was gone. When the vet school shot her BID, they declared her a "highly unregulated cat." Well, that's because she would spike as much as 200 points if she didn't get shot at +8! That was a crazy schedule for her to keep, but it worked for Kitty, and she was successful at regulating her that way.

The whole concept of a "shed" is foreign to those of us that have had the flexibility of PZI. There were people there that shot 14/10, there were several with a sliding scale. Those things worked on ProZinc, but not so much on Lev or Lantus. They really seem to do best with consistency.

Before there became an issue with the availability of PZI, several of us transitioned over. Sneakers (Heather), Shakepeare (Denise), Hershey (Doug & Libby), Asher (Donna) and Grayson have all changed over the summer. Still an adjustment, but I think we're all seeing better numbers.

Wishing you the best!
 
Hello there!

I say Buddy seems to like the colors, doesn't he? Lev is better on a set schedule, so once he settles into it we should have a better picture on what is going on.

I do have a few questions as I don't see a profile and I wasn't sure with teh notes on the SS-

How often do you feed? Sneakers was eating 18-20 oz per day, so she ate just about every 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Once she was regulated (took NEARLY 9 months) she slowed down and now it is only 8-10 oz per day. She's got acro and is, normally, a high dose kitty. Eating frequently helps to level out the bg's more- lifting them up so they don't have the roller coaster ride. Several meals throughout the day might be good.

Do you feed different carbs at all times or do you stick with one carb for days or weeks at a time? I am asking because Sneakers was so carb sensitive when we started out that eating a 0% in the morning to a 2% at night would bounce her around like a ping-pong ball on steroids. It was only until I settled on one carb % for a week that she stopped the bouncing. I kept her on something like 2% for a whole month, then went to 3%. Not every cat is like that, but it is something to try if Buddy doesn't settle and you can't think of anything else. She is alot better about it now, I go from 2-4% and only a small blip on the numbers instead of pink to black and back to red and back again.

I, too, was a PZI person and Sneakers is doing a whole lot better with Lev.
 
that's a really interesting idea-never thought about the different carbs...i give him raw food mostly, but do mix in FF with it, i will certainly try to keep to 1 carb a week-nothing to lose.thanks!
 
Sneakers does get raw- in fact I just bought the Tesin grinder so I hope to be able to mix more at once. She gets 3-6oz per day of raw but then gets the rest of canned- namely because she gets food bored easily and straight raw would cause her to not eat it :lol: .

It is worth a try, might help, won't hurt.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top