Hey everyone I'm quite new to this but I am a fast learner and I've been reading as much as possible in the last week that I found out that my cat Sunny is diabetic. He is 11-12 years old and currently weighs in at about 14 lbs. He was about 20lbs only 6 months ago and then started getting all the symptoms, heavy drinking, urination, not walking good on his hind legs etc. In that short time he lost all that weight which I felt was good cause I knew he was overweight but I knew something was wrong because his diet was not changed at all. Unfortunately I was away for a few months for work and my parents were caring for him and started feeding him dry food twice a day as well as Wellness canned food unrestricted all day which I have had numerous arguments with them about free feeding him especially since he was overweight but they did not listen to me and I didn't even know about the dry food until he came back from the vet and his glucose was off the charts at 502 and then my dad decided to make a little confession to me (I'm sure you know how mad I was at this point) needless to say I immediately resumed control of his diet only feeding him wet food 2-3 times tops a day in between the week I had to wait for my vet to take him in and start him on insulin. In that week his fasting BG went down to about 370 and after eating 425. I've been testing him as often as I can. Yesterday was his first day on Lantus and I had to leave him at the vet all day for them to monitor him and make sure he was alright. He started him on 3 units twice a day and said that probably when I bring him back in 2 weeks to get checked again more then likely he would have to increase his dose. Well today one day later and 3 shots in at about 36 hours his fasting BG was 73 and after eating 98 at +12. My question is this normal to drop this low this fast? I'm afraid that maybe his dose is too high already if it dropped this fast or is this just the way that this insulin works? Keep in mind I did also alter his food in the last week to just straight wet Wellness canned and cut off all dry. I trust my Vet for the most part but he didn't even tell me to keep checking his levels like I have, I decided to do this all on my own but I don't know if I'm just freaking myself out for nothing or maybe my vet doesn't know as much as he thinks he does. According to the calculations I've read on here he should start on a dose of about 1.5 units if I go by his weight but is there something else I'm missing? He has no Ketones as of his blood test last week but his liver values are on the high side. Sorry to drag on but I want to make sure I have everything anyone might need to possibly help. At this point I'm afraid to give him his next dose I'm debating on skipping it and waiting till the morning to ask the vet or maybe just giving him a lower dose but I'm afraid to do that after all the stuff I've read on here about keeping the same dose for a few days before changing anything. Please help, any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!!