BG 40- Dose help 10/23 Guppy AMPS 134 +1 157 +2 172 PMPS 360 +2 248 +4.5 82 +6 40 +6.5 59

Guppy took a HUGE dip, 40 at +6, gave some medium carb with a little karo syrup. Had also given medium carb at +4.5. No symptoms as far as I can tell. Will test again in 20. Reducing in the morning, would it make sense to give 1.5-2 units in the morning to deplete the depot a bit? These crazy dives at night are concerning me, he's eating quite a bit and I'm giving larger snacks, but it doesn't slow the drop. He gets the same amount of food during the day, I don't really understand nocturnal hypoglycemia, is it just something that happens with no real explanation or is there a reason for it?
 
Last edited:
Cats are nocturnal creatures and many cats see lower BGs at nights and bounce in the day. You might also find that he mixes things up and gives you lower numbers in the day and bounces at night (something all of us prefer!).

Congrats on the reduction! Give it a couple of days on the reduced dose and see if you find that he doesn't dive as much on it.

I haven't read back to past condos, but I presume he gets food after every test to reduce the drops?
 
Cats are nocturnal creatures and many cats see lower BGs at nights and bounce in the day. You might also find that he mixes things up and gives you lower numbers in the day and bounces at night (something all of us prefer!).

Congrats on the reduction! Give it a couple of days on the reduced dose and see if you find that he doesn't dive as much on it.

I haven't read back to past condos, but I presume he gets food after every test to reduce the drops?
Yes he gets at least a tablespoon LC to slow the drops, but it hasn't seemed to help the last few days. Honestly, while I am tired, I think having him drop during the day when I'm not around to test would give me too much anxiety:nailbiting:
 
Misremembered the info from the sticky, gave about a 1/4 tsp of karo instead of a few drops and probably over-carbed him:facepalm:. We'll see where we get
 
Back
Top