Piers has been on 1 unit caninsulin at 12 hour intervals for about ten days. He's a bit of a sicker-upper so I wait about 30 mins after breakfast before his shot, to make sure his food is in him.
He can also be a picky eater so again I am cautious about his shot. Following the rule 'no food, no shot'.
He seems to be doing ok but still drinking and peeing too much. My vet plans to test for fructosamine in about another week.
This am his BG reading was 365. Tested before breakfast. He ate his breakfast (and I think he had been drinking a lot of water) then threw everything up about 20 mins later so I held off the insulin.
Finally ate a small meal at 7.50 so insulin at 8.30.
So my schedule is now 'off'by 2 hours.
I am wondering whether - given the high bg reading - I could/should have injected him (maybe only 0.5 of a unit) on schedule or whether waiting was better? Obviously had his BG numbers been closer to a correct range/with a different insulin, I would not be asking this question.
If anyone has time to look at my weekend readings and has any comments, I would be grateful. Plan to share them with my vet and request his readings/dosages from when he was admitted the other week. to clarify, I am in the UK but my glucometer is giving the US(?) mg/dl measurements.
It seems to me that he is on a pretty even keel but is still too high on his BG readings, not sure if waiting a further week for fructosamine test is best for Piers - seems to be in potential renal damage zone ATM?
thank you in advance.
He can also be a picky eater so again I am cautious about his shot. Following the rule 'no food, no shot'.
He seems to be doing ok but still drinking and peeing too much. My vet plans to test for fructosamine in about another week.
This am his BG reading was 365. Tested before breakfast. He ate his breakfast (and I think he had been drinking a lot of water) then threw everything up about 20 mins later so I held off the insulin.
Finally ate a small meal at 7.50 so insulin at 8.30.
So my schedule is now 'off'by 2 hours.
I am wondering whether - given the high bg reading - I could/should have injected him (maybe only 0.5 of a unit) on schedule or whether waiting was better? Obviously had his BG numbers been closer to a correct range/with a different insulin, I would not be asking this question.
If anyone has time to look at my weekend readings and has any comments, I would be grateful. Plan to share them with my vet and request his readings/dosages from when he was admitted the other week. to clarify, I am in the UK but my glucometer is giving the US(?) mg/dl measurements.
It seems to me that he is on a pretty even keel but is still too high on his BG readings, not sure if waiting a further week for fructosamine test is best for Piers - seems to be in potential renal damage zone ATM?
thank you in advance.
Last edited: