BG 212 should i give evening dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
since 1.5 took her down to 53, I'd go with 1U and hold it for a few days and give it a chance.

Also, she should be getting shots twice a day and it's just as important to test on the PM cycle as the AM (maybe more since most cats go lower at night)

You should test her before you feed her (when she hasn't had any food for at least 2 hours)….You want to know what her blood glucose is without the influence of food.

With Novolin, you Test, Feed, wait 20-30 minutes and shoot so you get a Pre-shot BG that's not food influenced, but then you feed so there's food on board before it "hits" since it's so harsh

Since she's eaten now, we don't know how much of that 212 is due to the food.
 
she became very sick a week ago spent two days and nights at the vets office. I ended up switching vets because everything I have ever read said they needed to be on morning and evening dose of insulin. the new vet did BGs and then put her on 2 units 2x a day of the Novolin NPH while getting her stable. She has gotten the same dose 3 days in a row now and tonight before food her BG was 163 after the food came up to 212.
 
If she was only 163 before feeding, I wouldn't give any more than .5 and that's only if you can test tonight to make sure she stays safe.

I'd be looking for another "new" vet too.....One that worked with one of the insulins that works best in cats. Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc
 
I decided to giver her just a unit and I'm hoping that is the right decision. going to check it again around 8 to see if its ok. she ate a pretty good meal of a can and a 1/4 of FF.
 
how can I keep her from going low tonight? I have temptations treats that she loves. should I giver her a couple of those if its lower when I test at 8?
 
When is 8 in "+ hours"? We're all over the world here....that's why we use the "+ system" on our spreadsheets.....the + cells correspond to the number of hours since the last shot.

If you gave 1U, I'd test her at +1 and +2 so if she starts to go too low you can intervene early.
 
It will also help if you'll put her numbers in your subject line as you get them and keep it updated.

Like "Kya PMPS 212, +1 ###, +2 ###"
 
OK....get that +2 and post the numbers here like I suggested above (in your subject line)

The people here scan the subject lines to look for people who might need help quickly
 
She has dropped a lot since before eating so yes I would give her food now but only a tbsp. or so and if you have something a higher in carbs I would give her that. With Novolin she is no where near her lowest point in the cycle yet and you are going to have to keep testing her to keep her safe. Please get another test 30 minutes after she finishes eating something.
 
Novolin often reaches peak action (lowest point in cycle) between 3 and 5 hours after the shot so you are going to have to monitor Kya at least until 5 hours after her shot to ensure she stays safe. You really don't want her BG dropping much lower than it is now to keep her safe which means you may have to keep feeding her small amounts or some gravy frequently to keep her BG at a safe level. Do you have honey, karo or maple syrup on hand in case she needs more of a boost? Lots of test strips?

With Novolin, we don't recommend giving the shot unless the pre-shot BG test before food is 250 or higher because of the steep BG drops it can cause.
 
I can monitor. good to know when she will be in clear. I do have honey and Karo. If it’s below 250 am I supposed to skip all together or give lowest dose?
 
If it’s below 250 am I supposed to skip all together or give lowest dose?

For now, it's probably best to skip as long as she doesn't have any history of ketones....but after you start to get more data on how she responds, you can start to lower that "no shot" number down some.

I'd go ahead and test her again to make sure the food stopped her dropping so quickly
 
Ok that is a much better number for this point in the cycle but you cannot let your guard down yet. Please test Kya again in a half hour to make sure she isn't starting to drop again. Better to catch her before she drops too much as it will be easier to keep her in safe numbers.
 
Good job tonight!!

Make a note of what you fed her (and how much)….next time you need to bring her up, note what you used this time and adjust.....usually just a few teaspoons of medium/high carb food is enough
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top