? BG 137, shoot or don't shoot?

Salem Patel

Member Since 2020
Holy canoli!

We have a BG of 137 & he is eating now. I feel like that is close to normal range. We are using the Reli On Prime, Lantus & TIkiCat Koolina Luau.

Should we skip insulin? I have the pen, so I cannot do half doses, only whole ones.

This is my spreadsheet so far:
 

Attachments

  • 89563097_10219104187747378_6181202535949271040_o.jpg
    89563097_10219104187747378_6181202535949271040_o.jpg
    28.5 KB · Views: 98
Have you fed yet?
If not, you can do a stall for 20 minutes, retest and see if the number rises. You can stall up to an hour, schedule permitting.
 
Please go out and buy yourself some insulin syringes. So you can change the dose in smaller increments instead of whole units.

You want U100, 30 cc (max capacity is 30 units), 1/2 unit markings on the syringe barrel. Needle length is your choice.
 
There is our standardized color coded spreadsheet we use here. There is a template you copy, and there are detailed instructions on how to do the setup on a pc, tablet, smartphone. FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions

What it means is here. Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid

Editing your Signature, Profile, and Preferences

Also,having some basis information in your User id signature is helpful. Go to the upper right of the screen, click on your user name, a drop down list appears, select "Signature" from the list. A text box will appear and you can type away.

We like to see your first name, cats name, age/sex; DX: diagnosis date; insulin used, meter used, food fed, and concurrent medical conditions your cat has. Takes about 60 seconds to do that.
 
Hello and welcome to you and your kitty.

Next time you are in Walmart, pick up some of their Relion syringes with half unit markings.

Without know what dose you are giving, how long kitty has been on that dose or even on insulin, we cannot answer your question. The spreadsheet Deb mentioned is an essential for those of us who give feedback on dosing.
 
@Salem Patel

Did your cat do ok last night, after that low number?

Without context, it's very hard to know what to tell you when you get a low number like that. Until the post from @Chris & China (GA), we had no idea that you were also a member of our sister facebook group.

Found your post over on the facebook group. But not everyone that helps people here on the message board is a member of our sister facebook group. I did look at your latest post over in facebook, to get up to date on your situation.

See that you skipped another shot this morning.
See that you are trying all sorts of Fancy Feast (FF) flavors, to try and get your kitty to eat the lower carb canned food. Sometimes, the ones with organ meats are more appealing to a cat. Try the FF Turkey & Giblets Feast or the Tender Liver and Chicken Feast, or the Tender Beef and Liver flavor. Those may be a hit.

Sometimes a different texture can be appealing to a cat. Try the Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky styles from Dr. Lisa Pierson's food chart. https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf Those are all 4-6% carbs, but some of them have a bit of a "gravy" to them, the Roasted ones. But they are still low carb, <10%.
 
Back
Top