Bg 115 before night shot???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ross's mom

Member Since 2016
I'm guessing I'm not supposed to shoot so I didn't but his numbers are all over the place I don't want things messing up I fed him and all check again but do I skip it all together or do it late what's the way to go
 
Since you are using Caninsulin I wouls skip the shot. Caninsulin can drop the numbers fast and hard and that 115 is too a low number to shoot into.
 
The Caninsulin is definitely bringing him down You went from a 405 at PS this morning to a 99 at +6. Caninsulin usually will peak at about +4 so he could have been even lower than that at some point.
 
Yuu might consider asking the vet about changing to a longer acting inculin such as Prozinc,lantus or levemir. These insulin are much gentler and will not give the huge drops Caninsulin does. Caninsulin aslo tends to fizzle out between 8-10 hours after injection in many cats, while the other insulins will last much close to a 12 hour period between injections.
 
I a
Yuu might consider asking the vet about changing to a longer acting inculin such as Prozinc,lantus or levemir. These insulin are much gentler and will not give the huge drops Caninsulin does. Caninsulin aslo tends to fizzle out between 8-10 hours after injection in many cats, while the other insulins will last much close to a 12 hour period between injections.
I actually asked him today about trying a long acting insulin he said we could and that he only gets an injection once every 24 instead of 12 ?? I thought that was strange but he also told me to keep feeding hard food.
 
I a

I actually asked him today about trying a long acting insulin he said we could and that he only gets an infection Ives l once every 24 instead of 12 ?? I thought that was strange but he also told me to keep feeding hard food.


YIKES :eek: :eek: I would be looking for another vet!!!!

Using ANY insulin only once every 24 hours will not control the glucose levels in a cat. As well dry food is NOT good for ANY cat let alone a diabetic cat. However changing to a proper all wet low carb food could very well drop the numbers a lot. Some kitties can drop 100s of points just with a change from dry food to low carb wet food.

Your kitty shows good responses to the insulin but the numbers go back up high. This can be due to "bouncing" which occurs when numbers drop too fast, too much or too low. The body produces counter-regulatory hormones which cause stored glucose (glucogen) to be released into the system, since it perceives this as an "emergency" and attempts to bring the glucose levels up.

My personal feeling is that by changing to a gentler long acting insulin (prozinc, levemir or lantus) and getting onto a proper diet (all wet low carb) your kitty would have much better overall numbers.

YOU SHOULD NOT ATTEMPT TO CHANGE THE DIET WITHOUT LOTS OF MONITORING AND A LOWER DOSE OF CANINSULIN IN ORDER TO AVOID A POTENTIAL HYPO EPISODE.
 
Last edited:
YIKES :eek: :eek: I would be looking for another vet!!!!

Using ANY insulin only once every 24 hours will not control the glucose levels in a cat. As well dry food is NOT good for ANY cat let alone a diabetic cat. However changing to a proper all wet low carb food could very well drop the numbers a lot. Some kitties can drop 100s of points just with a change from dry food to low carb wet food.

Your kitty shows good responses to the insulin but the numbers go back up high. This can be due to "bouncing" which occurs when numbers drop too fast, too much or too low. The body produces counter-regulatory hormones which cause stored glucose (glucogen) to be released into the system, since it perceives this as an "emergency" and attempts to bring the glucose levels up.

My personal feeling is that by changing to a gentler long acting insulin (prozinc, levemir or lantus) and getting onto a proper diet (all wet low carb) your kitty would have much better overall numbers.

YOU SHOULD NOT ATTEMPT TO CHANGE THE DIET WITHOUT LOTS OF MONITORING AND A LOWER DOSE OF CANINSULIN IN ORDER TO AVOID A POTENTIAL HYPO EPISODE.
I just did a really check he's 275 now? Should I do half dose one hour late or Just not at all now I'm looking into another Vet I have another that's great it's just more money for everything there
 
With the last number you got you could shoot a 1 unit dose IF you are able to test at +1 +2 and +4 to make sure the numbers don't drop too low.
 
With the last number you got you could shoot a 1 unit dose IF you are able to test at +1 +2 and +4 to make sure the numbers don't drop too low.
And if I can't test should I just not give him any? I mean I could get up all night but I work in the am also would that change his shot time from now on because now he's late
 
I fed him at 830 just that's also his regular shot time


OK I had actually posted after my other comment.

"With the last number you got you could shoot a 1 unit dose IF you are able to test at +1 +2 and +4 to make sure the numbers don't drop too low."

You shot a similar number a few nights ago with 1 unit so if you can monitor that should be safe/.
 
If you feel you are unable to stay up or that doing a shot now will cause problems with the morning shot then you could just skip for the night. It is better for Ross to be high for a short time than risk going into low numbers when you are not able to monitor, especially with Caninsulin
 
If you feel you are unable to stay up or that doing a shot now will cause problems with the morning shot then you could just skip for the night. It is better for Ross to be high for a short time than risk going into low numbers when you are not able to monitor, especially with Caninsulin
Okay great thank u so much for your advice!!! I think we might just skip it to not risk it thank you again!
 
You are welcome. If the numbers are lower in the morning ( which they probably won't be) just post again for advice Have a good sleep :)
Thank u again so much this morning he was 432 I think it was I'm at work so I can't see my book at the moment that's why I say I think so I gave 2u and will check him at 230 as soon as I'm home from work thank you again
 
Last edited:
Is there any chance of seeing a different vet? Speaking as someone who was poorly advised by my vet, it became quite dangerous.
 
Is there any chance of seeing a different vet? Speaking as someone who was poorly advised by my vet, it became quite dangerous.
Yes I was just speaking with my husband about that I think we need to go to another Vet I don't think the one I'm at now is very informed on this subject it's just going to be allot of money to change and start all over but definitely worth it I think
 
It won't be a complete start-over this time: you've already learned a lot and you'll be much more switched on now about what to look for in a new vet.

Wishing you successful vet-shopping. :)


Mogs
.
 
@Ross's mom ,
Just wanted to say that getting a 115 that late in a Caninsulin cycle can be good news.
It could be that Ross is getting good duration from the Caninsulin, OR, it may be that his pancreas is waking up and is beginning to do some work of it's own... This has happened quite a few times here with cats on Caninsulin where the insulin drops the blood glucose but then, instead of rising straight away, the numbers start to be able to stay down as the pancreas 'picks up the ball and runs with it'.... (Then, as the pancreas gets tired, you'd typically see quite a sharp rise in blood glucose levels again).

This may or may not be what's happening with Ross, but it's very possible that this is a sign of recovery....

As Mogs says above, if you do get another vet you wouldn't really be 'starting over again'. You've learned so much already. :bighug:

Eliz
 
Yes I was just speaking with my husband about that I think we need to go to another Vet I don't think the one I'm at now is very informed on this subject it's just going to be allot of money to change and start all over but definitely worth it I think


Changing to a new vet who actually understands feline diabetes won't be as expensive as you think. You have a right to get copies of all the tests that have been done so far so those will not have to be redone with a new vet. Really you are not starting all over...just changing vets. You will need the initial vet visit, but you have learned to home test so testing and curves can be done at home. Having a good vet who understand FD and will work WITH you will be such a stress reliever.
 
Having a good vet who understand FD and will work WITH you will be such a stress reliever.
This.

And it will be a lot better for Ross's health and wellbeing. That'll reduce stress for all of you - and probably save a few bucks to boot. (Bonus!) :)


Mogs
.
 
Changing to a new vet who actually understands feline diabetes won't be as expensive as you think. You have a right to get copies of all the tests that have been done so far so those will not have to be redone with a new vet. Really you are not starting all over...just changing vets. You will need the initial vet visit, but you have learned to home test so testing and curves can be done at home. Having a good vet who understand FD and will work WITH you will be such a stress reliever.
I have an appointment tomorrow I actually have an appointment tomorrow to see another Vet I have two vets that I go to oddly enough one that my dogs go to and always have and the new one I'm not liking to much is where I took Ross because I moved and it was much closer so I was going to change to him but I'm going to start driving back to my old vet I have an appointment there tomorrow for my dog Maximus and I'm going to ask her if I can bring Ross there from now on.
 
This.

And it will be a lot better for Ross's health and wellbeing. That'll reduce stress for all of you - and probably save a few bucks to boot. (Bonus!) :)


Mogs
.
I'm looking forward to getting to know Ross a Lil better during this he's gone thru so many ups and down the cost of most things are a Lil more at the other vet but if they can help me understand everything I think a Ross is worth a few bucks extra hes the best kitty ever!!
 
Here's hoping that you and Ross will get on great with the other vet. Be sure to let us know how it goes.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top