BG 107 this morning... Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy and Oliver

Member Since 2012
Good Morning... I posted this to the Lantus Relaxed board a bit ago, but nobody seems to be on. My apologies for the double posting but I need some help deciding what to do next.

Last night I introduced Oliver and didn't really expect to be needing advice so soon but Oliver's BG is 107 this morning so I don't know where to go from here. He has been on 2.5 u for the last 3 days. Previously to this morning he had been running in the 300's-400's again.

Here's a little background... Last Thursday his first reading of the day was 64 after having been on 3.5u for a couple of weeks. Oliver was alert and perky and not hypo by any means. He had a bit to eat and retested at 88. (The mornings prior he had been running in the low 300's.) So we skipped his am shot and his BG climbed steadily all day. By the time he was to get his pm shot he was 555. The vet had me reduce him to 3u at that time.

The next day...
7am... 261
Gave him 3u
1pm... 100
7pm... 262
Gave him 3u

The following day...
7am... 141
Skipped the injection because I couldn't reach my vet in time for advice and I would be away all day and unable to monitor Oliver. So of course his BG climbed all day. When I did finally hear from the vet she told me to drop him to 2.5u which is what he got that evening.

Since then his numbers ran high in the 300's-400's for the past two days. Now this morning we're seeing the 107. What should I do? I know if I don't shoot at all then we will keep bouncing all over the place... But I don't know what might be the right amount to give so he doesn't go hypo. I am trying to stick with my current injection schedule as I travel a lot and my cat sitter visits on a set schedule.

Need advice ASAP please about what to do this morning.
Thanks,

Wendy and Oliver
 
Can you test again to see if he's rising or falling from that 107? Have you fed him yet?
Carl
 
Okay, for "next time" try to stall on feeding so you can see if the number is rising on its own.

The dose may or may not be "too high". It's hard to tell based on the recent data you have. I'm at work so I can't go into lots of detail. I'm inclined to say skip the shot, and post in the Tight Regulation forum for advice going forward. Even if you don't follow their protocol, it's the most active forum on the board.
Carl
 
Thanks for your input. Good point about the food... hadn't thought far enough ahead about that. I'll post to the Tight Regulation forum per your suggestion and see what the folks there think. I'd love to avoid pushing Oliver too high today if it can be avoided. Thanks again.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top