? BG = 104 at Dr.: vet wants to consider OTJ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

sandscout

Member Since 2018
Hi, need help!
The vet just called me with labs from yesterday’s appointment.
My cat’s blood sugar was 104:
this was 3 hours after AMPT of 127, then a meal and 0.5u Lantus.
(I gave her a copy of his spreadsheet from the last 8 weeks so she could see trends & so forth.)

Based on the BG of 104 from yesterday’s labs, she is concerned that he might not need the insulin, suggesting that I take him off of it for one day, then fast him for 10 hours, take a BG reading, and call her and let her know the results.

I said that a 10 hour fast might be very hard on him, as he’s been eating 5-6 smaller meals a day which helped his pancreatitis (remission now!!! plus no more early morning vomiting episodes), and has kept his BG numbers from fluctuating so much, (which they did when it was advised to go with 2 meals per day after his hospitalization in May.)
I decided to go with more smaller meals throughout the day and believe that was the best way to go.
His spreadsheet is attached.
Any advice or thought would be very much appreciated. I really want to do the right thing for him!
Thank you.
 
To be OTJ you need to be in the GREENS for 14 days, you're SS is pretty much in the blues and I would continue as you have been doing. When decreases are earned then a slow reduction should be followed. Missing his shot, then a fast and then back on would totally mess up your progress. Keep following the method you've been doing here and Scout will be much better off. Agree on the smaller meals per day and remission means no insulin whatsoever........unless I miss read your comment in brackets. Scouts looks like he's doing well and it would be a shame to rush things and have to build up again.
 
Based on the BG of 104 from yesterday’s labs, she is concerned that he might not need the insulin, suggesting that I take him off of it for one day, then fast him for 10 hours, take a BG reading, and call her and let her know the results.
In addition to what the others have said...
I'm not sure your vet understands Lantus is a depot insulin. Taking a cat off of insulin for a day won't tell you anything definitive because the depot can last for around 6 cycles (3 days). For example, even on the tiniest micro-doses, with Alex I'd usually see depot action for 5 cycles...
 
Thank you all for reading & responding to my post.

tiffmaxee - I too am confused by the recommendation for a 10 hour fast. ( I was writing everything down so fast when she called me w/his labs, I didn’t think to ask why he needed such a loooong fast. I feel kinda dumb for not asking, was trying to remember everything she said & not miss anything.) At this point, should I be worried about getting a BG of 104 at the vet’s?

She also wanted me to do it
in-house, that makes no sense to me as he is truly terrified of vet visits. At least I had the presence of mind to tell her that would not work.

Mandy, Shawna
, & Jill -

(Shawna - **“remission” is referring to the pancreatitis only; sorry if that wasn’t clear. )

FDMB has been a lifesaver: the feedback, experiences shared, learning about SLGS, the effect of a depot drug & aiming for green’s has given me the direction I need to treat Scout’s diabetes.
I’m afraid to that it will send him backwards if I do as has been suggested, but I didn’t want to question it or seem adversarial, she’s the doctor.

I do think it’s in his best interest to keep going with the method I’ve been doing. Just feeling insecure about my own judgment, I expect.

I appreciate that you’ve taken the time to share your feedback.

:)).
sandscout




 
At this point, should I be worried about getting a BG of 104 at the vet’s?
No, my Neko often registered below 100 for her routine bloodwork. My vet got over it. :p She knew how much I tested. I was also the first client to home test so had a better idea of blood sugar patterns than she did.

Stay the course, trust your own judgement. You are doing great. Scout is looking so much better than when you started.
 
No, my Neko often registered below 100 for her routine bloodwork. My vet got over it. :p She knew how much I tested. I was also the first client to home test so had a better idea of blood sugar patterns than she did.

Stay the course, trust your own judgement. You are doing great. Scout is looking so much better than when you started.
Thank you Wendy!!!!
 
Vets don't always know what to do "after" the DX of FD.......a recent example is Rebecca/Garfie..........the vet is the same as mine and they referred her to me since they knew Davidson went into remission 4 yrs ago, and know he's back on the juice. It's one thing to make a DX, it's another thing and knowledge to treat it long after the initial DX.........Rebecca got hands on training for a month, now is on the board here and getting input from everyone who wishes to help. IMO, the vet is great but no idea about dosing, testing at home and isn't around our cats daily to know the ins and outs...........my suggestion is to stay where you're at and provide the Vet's suggestions here so all can see and revert back to you.
 
Well, while some like Nekotest lower at the vet, Max was scared and tested higher. What I did at first was listen to my vet and post here. I was very hesitant to listen to people I didn’t know rather than my vet. I soon learned how experienced people are here. If my vet suggested something different, I listened, posted, and then decided what I felt comfortable doing. Fortunately my vet trusted my judgement and after awhile, he handled all Max’s other issues and I handled the diabetes. We never talked about it. It just happened. As Wendy said, trust your own judgement.
 
Vets don't always know what to do "after" the DX of FD.......a recent example is Rebecca/Garfie..........the vet is the same as mine and they referred her to me since they knew Davidson went into remission 4 yrs ago, and know he's back on the juice. It's one thing to make a DX, it's another thing and knowledge to treat it long after the initial DX.........Rebecca got hands on training for a month, now is on the board here and getting input from everyone who wishes to help. IMO, the vet is great but no idea about dosing, testing at home and isn't around our cats daily to know the ins and outs...........my suggestion is to stay where you're at and provide the Vet's suggestions here so all can see and revert back to you.
Shawna, that’s what my intuition was telling me, that being there daily for dosing and testing and all the home care paints the full picture. I am taking your suggestion and staying where I am at. : )))
 
No, my Neko often registered below 100 for her routine bloodwork. My vet got over it. :p She knew how much I tested. I was also the first client to home test so had a better idea of blood sugar patterns than she did.

Stay the course, trust your own judgement. You are doing great. Scout is looking so much better than when you started.
He is, isn’t he? Thank you Wendy.
 
Make sure if you run into any problems to use your thread prefixes and post your concerns. Some where there are people here as all hours. Read the stickies on the top and do your curve at home. Explain to your vet what you're doing and hopefully they understand where you're coming from. You will learn Scout's routine and see how he reacts to the insulin and get to know when he's high or low...........they tell you, lol. Make sure you have the freeze dried no carb treats and Scout will surely tell you when its test time. TEST = TREAT, and he'll be waking you up when you fall asleep. :bighug:
 
Make sure if you run into any problems to use your thread prefixes and post your concerns. Some where there are people here as all hours. Read the stickies on the top and do your curve at home. Explain to your vet what you're doing and hopefully they understand where you're coming from. You will learn Scout's routine and see how he reacts to the insulin and get to know when he's high or low...........they tell you, lol. Make sure you have the freeze dried no carb treats and Scout will surely tell you when its test time. TEST = TREAT, and he'll be waking you up when you fall asleep. :bighug:
☺️☺️Ok, thanks.
He can’t have anything but his venison (limited ingredient diet to keep the pancreatitis at bay), so I’ll make little balls out of refrigerated canned food for his treats.
Ty!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top