MindyC
Active Member
At AM+10, Max's BG was 300, which is low-ish compared to where he's been at that point. I wasn't home at normal shot time (5pm), and my husband fed him without testing, and no shot. At 5:30 I tested him and he was at 340, so I didn't shoot--didn't seem like enough of a rise, especially with food. At 6:30 tested again, and he was at 431. Fed him (usual 2nd dinner) and gave him 2.5U, knowing it was later than his usual shot time. Probably should have only given 2U, but we're new with this insulin.
At +4 (10:30pm), of course when I'm hoping to go to bed, he's at 103. I gave him a snack, and will recheck in a minute to see if he's rising. If he is, can I go to bed (I'm exhausted...it's definitely been a Monday)? It appears his nadir is around +5, though I don't have enough data to be concrete in that thought.
And in the morning...what do I do if he's kinda low again? 2U? 1U? Skip the shot? I have to leave for work around 2 hours after normal feed/shoot time, and will be gone for at least 6 hours.
At +4 (10:30pm), of course when I'm hoping to go to bed, he's at 103. I gave him a snack, and will recheck in a minute to see if he's rising. If he is, can I go to bed (I'm exhausted...it's definitely been a Monday)? It appears his nadir is around +5, though I don't have enough data to be concrete in that thought.
And in the morning...what do I do if he's kinda low again? 2U? 1U? Skip the shot? I have to leave for work around 2 hours after normal feed/shoot time, and will be gone for at least 6 hours.