Beyond frustrated...ugh

Status
Not open for further replies.

JennC & Diago

Member Since 2018
I'm so frustrated right now. We've been on Lantus only since 9/4 and I understand this does take time but I cannot get my cat out of the high numbers. I know being high is better than being low but to see high numbers EVERY day since we've started is disheartening. We are seeing very minor progress but VERY minor.

I'd love some input on his spreadsheet. The vet increased us to 2u last Saturday so we're almost 7 days in at this dose. I plan to do a 2 hour interval curve tomorrow but based on the checks I've been doing it seems 2u isn't enough. I'm know I'm not the only one going through this but I sure would love to get him regulated.
 
Is this ss wonky or is it just me? I don’t see the protocol you’re following. Is it TR or SLGS? It looks to me you’re not staying on the same dose long enough for it to work. Now sure what Wendy responded on the Lantus forum but that’s my two cents. You also jumped from 1 to 2 when we suggest .25 increments. And it hasn’t even been a month. Felines diabetes is a marathon not a sprint. You’ll get there! :cat:
 
Last edited:
Is this as wonky or is it just me? I don’t see the protocol you’re following. Is it TR or SLGS? It looks to me you’re not staying on the same dose long enough for it to work. Now sure what Wendy responded on the Lantus forum but that’s my two cents. You also jumped from 1 to 2 when we suggest .25 increments. And it hasn’t even been a month. Felines diabetes is a marathon not a sprint. You’ll get there! :cat:

I was starting with TR and realized after asking for help that because he was on dry that we shouldn't be on TR so we went to SLGS. Wendy did respond on my other thread in the Lantus forum and advised that after the curve today if he doesn't dip below 300 that we should go up to 2.5u. I read in the stickys that while starting with 0.5u is recommended for 7-10 days that after 6 cycles if we're still seeing high numbers that we could increase. We went from 1 to 2 per our vet's request due to his curve results. I know this takes time but to see him HI on 0.5u for days and even at 1u in the 500's, constantly drinking, peeing 18+ times in a 24 hour period is hard to watch. Since we've increased to 2u he is acting more himself, upstairs with us more, he's still urinating a lot due to the high numbers but they are a little better some days, more 400's versus high 500+ numbers. I'm at a loss honestly, based on the 0.5u dose his curve/nadir showed him around 392 and at 2u he did get down to 279 once but just yesterday was 379 so not sure if more insulin is needed or we start back at 0.5u for 7-10 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top