Better to give dose early or late?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christina & King Chuck

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone, happy Friday! If you’re not home for you cats regular shot time, do you give it early or late? My cat is on Tresiba which is most similar to lantus and tonight I won’t be home for his usual injection time. I can either give his injection 2.5 hours early or about 2 hours late. I hate him dealing with high BGs so I’m leaning toward giving the shot earlier, but not sure if either will make a huge difference. His numbers begin creeping up around +11 and tresiba takes a bit to kick in so I’m thinking he’s very low risk for a hypo. Thoughts?
 
Well this is super-interesting to me as I have never heard of Tresiba and a quick google says it can last for up to 42 hours?!?

I am no expert but my thinking is an early shot is a bigger risk of hypo due to overlap of previous dose.
 
Well this is super-interesting to me as I have never heard of Tresiba and a quick google says it can last for up to 42 hours?!?

I am no expert but my thinking is an early shot is a bigger risk of hypo due to overlap of previous dose.

It can last up to 42 hours in humans but unfortunately only lasts about 12 hours in cats due to their metabolism. From what I understand degludec insulin forms molecular bonds that break apart slowly making it ultra long acting. There’s not much research on its usage in cats but King Chuck has been doing great so far!
 
even if it only lasts 12 hours I stand by my previous statement that an early shot is more risky.

I do believe you are the first member of the FDMB to use that insulin. Definitely the first time I've heard of it! That's pretty neat
 
even if it only lasts 12 hours I stand by my previous statement that an early shot is more risky.

I do believe you are the first member of the FDMB to use that insulin. Definitely the first time I've heard of it! That's pretty neat

Agreed, I think I'll deal with the potential high blood sugar and give him the dose a little late tonight. I was able to find some posts from back in 2021 but it doesn't look like anyone currently uses it. Luckily it's similar enough to Lantus that I'm able to go by some of the guidance in that forum :)
 
I think what I would do is if you get into this situation again, is to look at the BG near shot time and see how high it is. If it is lower than normal, I would choose to give the dose at the later time. If the BG was higher I would give it earlier but leave food out for the cat. It is a matter of “knowing thy cat”
 
How did Chuck do with the change in shot time. (Your spreadsheet isn't up to date.)
He was perfectly fine with getting his shot about 2 hours late on Friday :)

Unfortunately I was about 3 hours late last night and his PMPS was 140 but his AMPS this morning was 240. I ended up giving his morning shot at +10 since he was elevated and I want to get us back to our normal shot time. Tresiba seems to be forgiving with some variation in shot time but I don't want to risk the potential swings. We'll ride out the elevated numbers today and hopefully be back in the greens tonight
 
It would also be very helpful, to say nothing about safety, if you got at least one test during the PM cycle. With your cat's mid-cycle numbers under 100, he could be bottoming out during the PM cycle. You could be risking hypoglycemic numbers or the opportunity to reduce the dose.
 
It would also be very helpful, to say nothing about safety, if you got at least one test during the PM cycle. With your cat's mid-cycle numbers under 100, he could be bottoming out during the PM cycle. You could be risking hypoglycemic numbers or the opportunity to reduce the dose.
I had the same thought last night and as luck would have it I also couldn’t sleep. At +2 PM shot he was 136 and at +5 he was 76, his AMPS this morning was 104. I’ve noticed that he’s usually slightly elevated 2-3 hours after his shot/eating then his BG will come back down by +4. Probably just the tresiba wearing off then depoting. I do think we’re headed for a decrease though because today he’s 70 at +4. I’ll take another reading in an hour
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top