Better numbers at lower doses

Clearly my experiment was unsuccessful. Would you guys day it's time to ask for an IAA/ACRO test? I'm hesitant to invite the vet back into it because she will want to try micro managing the dose at lower levels for too long of a time. I just know it. :(
 
If I were you, I'd get the testing done if for no other reason than your own sanity. It was frustrating for me as a newbie when no matter what I did, Menace's BG didn't move. I can only imagine how much more frustrating it has to be for you when you are a seasoned caregiver with a cat that has already been in remission and you just keep hitting a brick wall. It's frightening to keep increasing doses and see no results and I found just knowing what I was up against allowed me to feel much more comfortable increasing until we got to the break through dose.

Chances are good your vet has never knowingly dealt with either condition (not all acro cats need large doses of insulin) so if you can convince her to do the testing and it confirms either or both are at play, she'll probably be totally out of her element. I wouldn't hesitate to pointedly ask about her experience with either condition to essentially back her into a corner as far as getting the testing done and dealing with it if either/both are positive. You've increased and backed up and haven't been able to find that sweet spot so I don't know that there is much she can suggest in the way of dosing that is going to differ from what you've already done.

I know medical personnel can be difficult to deal with sometimes because they don't want to admit their own shortfalls but I also think that a well positioned/presented argument should lead to a partnership as opposed to a dictatorship. If it doesn't, then I'd be shopping for a new vet because she should have more respect for you and how you have managed C.C. up till now. :)
 
Decent preshot this evening. She was under the bed for the last 6 hours because I had company over, so I guess not eating since about 10 am kept the number down. Haha
 
If I were you, I'd get the testing done if for no other reason than your own sanity. It was frustrating for me as a newbie when no matter what I did, Menace's BG didn't move. I can only imagine how much more frustrating it has to be for you when you are a seasoned caregiver with a cat that has already been in remission and you just keep hitting a brick wall. It's frightening to keep increasing doses and see no results and I found just knowing what I was up against allowed me to feel much more comfortable increasing until we got to the break through dose.

Chances are good your vet has never knowingly dealt with either condition (not all acro cats need large doses of insulin) so if you can convince her to do the testing and it confirms either or both are at play, she'll probably be totally out of her element. I wouldn't hesitate to pointedly ask about her experience with either condition to essentially back her into a corner as far as getting the testing done and dealing with it if either/both are positive. You've increased and backed up and haven't been able to find that sweet spot so I don't know that there is much she can suggest in the way of dosing that is going to differ from what you've already done.

I know medical personnel can be difficult to deal with sometimes because they don't want to admit their own shortfalls but I also think that a well positioned/presented argument should lead to a partnership as opposed to a dictatorship. If it doesn't, then I'd be shopping for a new vet because she should have more respect for you and how you have managed C.C. up till now. :)
Oooh she has a good start to the day today. Was 325 at amps and 2 hours later 230. I wish I was home today! I may have been able to see a blue!
 
I take it C.C. is feeling a little better now?! Fingers crossed that she will honour you with some blue very soon when you are home to enjoy it! :)
 
I want to say something about bouncing but obviously you know about this Janet. For anyone else, it can be hard grasping the idea of throwing less water on a fire that's getting bigger but it can work. Read the stickie (where is it anyone?) and it should make sense. Noah's numbers used to climb and climb (Caninsulin) until I finally got up the nerve to reduce his dose. He's still unregulated but the days of 6 units are long gone.
Best wishes for C.C., I know she's in good hands.
Same with Gretchen. I’ve had horrible meter problems which hopefully have come to an end but I’ve lowered her to 2 units and she is just so much more healthy looking and acting.
 
So I bit the bullet and contacted the vet. As much as I hate that she's going to try to micro manage for a while, I feel like it's the only way to get the test for IAA done. Ugh. I am already regretting it. Lol
 
Janet, you may need to learn the "nod your head in agreement" tactic and then just do your own thing. All you really need is for the testing to be done. Once that is complete, what you do at home will be up to you. If I were you, I'd get the IGF-1 done too at the same time. Acro is a lot more common than most vets realize and more common than IAA on its own. As much as you are regretting this now, if C.C. does have either condition, you will know what you are dealing with and can work with it accordingly. :bighug:
 
Ouch on that AMPS CC! Hope this means you’re getting close to a break through, Janet and she’s just bouncing through it.
 
Ouch on that AMPS CC! Hope this means you’re getting close to a break through, Janet and she’s just bouncing through it.
She was high this morning but much more normal reading two hours later. Maybe she ate a bit... There was some wet food still down from the night before.... And I think it is a bit of a bounce.
 
Back
Top