Beta 11/15/18 amps 143 +1=161,+3=78,+4.5=72 TR dose reduction for newly diag cats?

Beta kitty

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...60-4-5-116-5-75-102-7-136-at-new-dose.202486/

I read that you reduce dose if kitty goes below 50 for newly diagnosed cats somewhere on the board. I was wondering does the "rule" for reductions for newly diagnosed cats extend to 3 readings between 50 and 60 instead of between 40-50 for long term diabetics?

I haven't posted for awhile but have been reading the board. Beta has been on Basaglar for almost 3 months and is getting all green nadirs and blue preshots for over a month. Her nadir levels are very consistent as far as timing (early btwn 3-4 hrs after shot) and bg readings. Yesterday she had a 50 nadir so I reduced the am dose by 0.25. What do you think?

Note: not all of her ps readings are fasting because I free feed and can't always remove food 2 hrs prior, but usually she eats all her food early in the cycle. I know this isn't recommended but I can't get up any earlier and pull food in the am and am not always home before shot time.

thanks for any advice, Tracy
 
You've been doing a good job with Beta, she's looking quite good. The rule for reductions for newly diagnosed cats if following TR is one drop below 50, or one week in mostly normal numbers. Here is a post on Earning Reductions that might help. Theoretically that 50 was above the line, but since you reduced, try it and see if it works.

As far as feeding, have you thought about getting a rotating automatic feeder? At +10, it would rotate to an empty position, thereby removing food access before preshot. If she didn't have access to food right before preshot, it might lower those preshot values a little more and she might earn some reduction by the second method, ie. a week in all green.
 
Here is a post on Earning Reductions that might help.
Yes that's the post I was looking for, thank you. I thought it was below 50, but since she's been getting a few cycles in the 50's and steadily lower nadirs thought I'd take the chance on reducing. I was confused about the 3 numbers between 40-50 for a reduction, but now I see it's for cats that don't hold reductions well and it makes sense. I read it several times and it just didn't sink in until now.

As far as feeding, have you thought about getting a rotating automatic feeder?
I have the sureflap microchip auto feeder that opens for her whenever she comes to it. I got 2 of them when I had 2 cats on different diets. Expensive. I thought about getting another one, but I like this one and heard sometimes those timed ones don't rotate right. Maybe sureflap makes one that has timers on it. I'll have to look into it more.

I try to pull her food 2 hrs or more before pm shot but don't always. Her pmps don't seem to lower if she doesn't have food before. Maybe I've been pulling food too early since her bg sometimes rises if she doesn't get to eat for awhile. I'm aiming for that week in green:D
 
Back
Top