Hi there,
I'm new to posting but have been "lurking" and getting advice from the site for a while. Thanks so much to all of you for your wonderful advice and support, which has helped far more than only the folks you've originally replied to!
My cat B was diagnosed with diabetes and hyperthyroidism at the end of April. Did lots of research (and lurking) and with low carb food got her almost off Caninsulin -- she was down to 0.125 units a day, and I'm sure we would have gone OTJ. Then her next bloodwork showed high kidney values...sigh. I knew this was a risk, but still, profoundly disappointing. Note that her BUN was high and the main concern (17), while creatinine was only slightly high (225) and her phosphorous was well within normal (1.53) (I'm in Canada BTW). (Although the vet said her creatinine was falsely low, given she's a pretty tiny cat and has lost weight recently).
The vet strongly recommended I switch her to low protien food. I've read the debates and reviewed much research, and it seems like the main arguments against the low protein food is that many cats won't eat it. Mine both eat it pretty enthusiastically, though (other has kidney issues as well, although nothing else complicating -- both seniors) -- so it seemed to make sense to at least try following the vet's advice and see if the different food brings the BUN down at least.
We are on the dry k/d food, free feeding -- she's always been on dry, although I am switching her to wet snacks. (Not sure if we might be able to shift to wet eventually...both B and my poor brain can only take so much change at once!). I was worried about her losing weight not getting enough protein and wanting to supplement a bit and the vet actually recommended a/d for this, so I've just shifted her to a supplement of 1/3 of a can of a/d a day (fed in two sessions right after her injection) as well.
We switched to the k/d slowly and I have sadly watched her BG go up and increased her caninsulin dose accordingly. Now we're on 100% k/d, and I'm having trouble regulating her again. We're up to 1 unit of Caninsulin, which drops her around 15 points right now (I am hope testing before every shot) -- so for example, we went yesterday from a pre-shot BG of 24.3 to 9.6 at +4 (I haven't had a chance to do a more complete curve recently, but typically +4 has been her peak insulin time). This seems like quite a swing, but it gets her down to a decent level for a little while at least.
I have to add that she's extremely perky, even swinging up to the 20s. She's awesome!
So my question is: do I keep raising the dose until she goes down to 5-7 at her nadir, and try and adjust daily as appropriate if her pre-shot BG goes down? Or do I let the 1 unit "settle in" for a few days and see if her BG shifts lower? Is there a "settling in" with the dose when we're upping it like this and she's been on the insulin for a while? When we were first regulating her, her BG was really high but even on relatively high carb food (30% -- although k/d is 43%, cringe) she did seem to eventually settle into a 1 unit dose and her BG didn't raise more than around 16, and was usually less. I understand how to lower the dose with the low protein food, but raising it with the high carb is confusing the heck out of me.
I would greatly appreciate any advice you may have!
I'm new to posting but have been "lurking" and getting advice from the site for a while. Thanks so much to all of you for your wonderful advice and support, which has helped far more than only the folks you've originally replied to!
My cat B was diagnosed with diabetes and hyperthyroidism at the end of April. Did lots of research (and lurking) and with low carb food got her almost off Caninsulin -- she was down to 0.125 units a day, and I'm sure we would have gone OTJ. Then her next bloodwork showed high kidney values...sigh. I knew this was a risk, but still, profoundly disappointing. Note that her BUN was high and the main concern (17), while creatinine was only slightly high (225) and her phosphorous was well within normal (1.53) (I'm in Canada BTW). (Although the vet said her creatinine was falsely low, given she's a pretty tiny cat and has lost weight recently).
The vet strongly recommended I switch her to low protien food. I've read the debates and reviewed much research, and it seems like the main arguments against the low protein food is that many cats won't eat it. Mine both eat it pretty enthusiastically, though (other has kidney issues as well, although nothing else complicating -- both seniors) -- so it seemed to make sense to at least try following the vet's advice and see if the different food brings the BUN down at least.
We are on the dry k/d food, free feeding -- she's always been on dry, although I am switching her to wet snacks. (Not sure if we might be able to shift to wet eventually...both B and my poor brain can only take so much change at once!). I was worried about her losing weight not getting enough protein and wanting to supplement a bit and the vet actually recommended a/d for this, so I've just shifted her to a supplement of 1/3 of a can of a/d a day (fed in two sessions right after her injection) as well.
We switched to the k/d slowly and I have sadly watched her BG go up and increased her caninsulin dose accordingly. Now we're on 100% k/d, and I'm having trouble regulating her again. We're up to 1 unit of Caninsulin, which drops her around 15 points right now (I am hope testing before every shot) -- so for example, we went yesterday from a pre-shot BG of 24.3 to 9.6 at +4 (I haven't had a chance to do a more complete curve recently, but typically +4 has been her peak insulin time). This seems like quite a swing, but it gets her down to a decent level for a little while at least.
I have to add that she's extremely perky, even swinging up to the 20s. She's awesome!
So my question is: do I keep raising the dose until she goes down to 5-7 at her nadir, and try and adjust daily as appropriate if her pre-shot BG goes down? Or do I let the 1 unit "settle in" for a few days and see if her BG shifts lower? Is there a "settling in" with the dose when we're upping it like this and she's been on the insulin for a while? When we were first regulating her, her BG was really high but even on relatively high carb food (30% -- although k/d is 43%, cringe) she did seem to eventually settle into a 1 unit dose and her BG didn't raise more than around 16, and was usually less. I understand how to lower the dose with the low protein food, but raising it with the high carb is confusing the heck out of me.
I would greatly appreciate any advice you may have!