I have been giving him snacks galore! He still seems to drop like crazy. That is interesting about the +1 bump. I will keep an eye out for it now.Good morning. The drops in the early part of the cycle last night are big enough to cause a bounce.
Hint: If he’s dropped at +1, I would give a snack then, because at +1 most cats have a slight food bump. If he doesn’t, it usually means he is going to have an active cycle and that can be your early alert to start feeding the cycle to try and get him down more slowly.
What HC food is Billy eating?
Would you mind removing the SLGS from the top of the SS where it says dosing method please? I can see you have written customised dosing beside it, but with both there it will be confusing for anyone who doesn’t know Benny’s history. Thanks!
When you are trying to slow down the drop, I would give the FF 7-8 carb. If that’s not working, you may need to go a bit higher carb. Once he’s down into lower numbers such as the high greens or low blues, I would give the lower carb foods to try and encourage him to get in his surf board and surf for a few hours in those numbers. Does that make sense?When I am feeding the curve, what LC is best? Fresh chicken or Prawn ( zero ) Wellness 2-3 carb or FF 7-8 carb
Thank you! That is great info.When you are trying to slow down the drop, I would give the FF 7-8 carb. If that’s not working, you may need to go a bit higher carb. Once he’s down into lower numbers such as the high greens or low blues, I would give the lower carb foods to try and encourage him to get in his surf board and surf for a few hours in those numbers. Does that make sense?
He might start dropping in the next hour or so going on past history.
With Billy, if his appetite is not good, has the vet suggested an antinausea medication? Ondansetron is good .
Is Billy’s phosphorus level higher than normal?Thank you! That is great info.
Billy is having Cerenia every couple of days. He has good days and bad days. I wish I could get the phosphorus binder into him but he doesn't go for the liquid treats like Benny.
Hope everything is ok for you in Sydney. Terrible numbers! Don't go out!!
Billy Creatine is 3.2 . So he is stage 3 now. He is very up and down. The heat doesn't help. He chooses the hottest room (no AC in it). There are cat plates everywhere! I try and offer him food often. It is all under 1% Phosphorus. It is higher protein than I would like but just keeping him eat is the main thing.Is Billy’s phosphorus level higher than normal?
Will he eat canned foods? Or raw? There are low phosphorus options with those without having to use a binder.
We are not going out at all unless it’s to an appointment. So many people are either isolating because they are a close contact or have covid, that the workforce has almost halved. Not enough people to transport food, pack the shelves, work in the hospitals, empty people’s garbage bins etc. They are asking retired people to work temporarily to fill vacancies.
Got a new one. Eek the$$$$.I’m sure high protein is still ok with stage three CRD. Do you give him sub Q fluids?
What a nuisance the sensor came off. It’s only been on a few days hasn’t it! Are you getting another sensor put on or are you going to manually do it?
Vet prescribed low protein diet for them both in April. They were biry stage 2 then. Benny still is and Billy has progressed.
Yes Tanya's site is a fabulous resource. that is where I get all the info on diet from, I found out about the phosphorus binder etc. She recommends protein 35% and under 0.5% Phosphorus. Billy gets subQs at the vets.I think your vet may be a bit behind the latest thinking with crd.
Is Billy having sub Q fluids at home? If he eats dry food he could be a bit dehydrated which can make the results look worse.
Have you read this site TANYA’S GUIDE TO CRD. It’s fantastic.
Do you have both the cats blood test path results? If you can post them I will ask Marje to have a look at them. She is excellent interpreting them and with suggestions.
I can see Benny has come down to 223 at +11. He might come off the bounce in the pm cycle so be on the look out for any drops.
Ughhhhhh…….those freestyle libres are costing you a bit aren’t they?
How often does he get the subQ fluids?Billy gets subQs at the vets.
He has dropped like a stone after the PM shot. I am beginning to see his response to insulin and I would not have been comfortable giving a full dose this evening, I am very tired from last night. I really do appreciate all the help you are giving me though. I have done lots of reading on feeding the curve on here.How often does he get the subQ fluids?
Most of us do them ourselves at home. They aren’t hard to do. I used to get them done at the vet but I asked if I could do them at home for Sheba and it was so much easier and she could have them more often.
I see you have given a reduced dose at PMPS. You have given a higher dose than 0.75 units before with a Preshot around 191 and lower. Next time can you post and ask for assistance or just reduce by 0.25 units? He’s giving you lots of opportunities to shoot a bit lower and 191 is a very safe BG to give the full dose.