Benny AMPS 84 after a bounce yesterday

Kindagot

Member Since 2021
Not sure what is going on with Benny although he us not eating as much yesterday,he does want treats.
 
I have the same thing going on with my Mikey PMPS number You may want to put a question mark on front of headline ? That will the experts will answer you.
Tom
 
Hi Fiona,

Sorry no one was around to help. We generally tell new members to stall, don't feed, and test again before deciding not to shoot as Benny's numbers might have been going up to a safe enough level for you to give insulin. Skipped shots mean high numbers and it takes some time to get back on track. Since he's not eating though I can understand your hesitation. Remember though that with TR, any number above 50 is safe to shoot, and the more you can get used to the idea, the lower you will be able to bring Benny's numbers. Here's a bit you can read about handling low pre-shot numbers like the one you got:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
 
I had to go out for a hospital appointment. I came back at +5 and he was at 458. I decided to give him 1,unit. He is eating in small amounts. It's a shame I could not stall and feed and then feed the curve today.
 
Hi Fiona, as mentioned above, if you get a lower than normal number, stall dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
He obviously came off the bounce and they sometimes drop quite low when they do that.
I am concerned you skipped the dose because of the DKA/ketones. Please make sure you test foe ketones and ensure he eats well this cycle. If he’s reluctant, I would give him some cerenia or ondansetron, whatever you have, the. A bit later give an appetite stimulant…..we need to make sure he eats.
I’m not sure what your schedule is, but you can bring the next dose forward because you skipped the dose this morning….disregard this as I see you have just posted that you gave 1 unit at ??+5


I had to go out for a hospital appointment. I came back at +5 and he was at 458. I decided to give him 1,unit. He is eating in small amounts. It's a shame I could not stall and feed and then feed the curve today.
What time did you give the one unit?. This is going to stuff up your schedule as you won’t be able to give the next shot foe 12 hours after the 1 unit.
 
Hi Fiona, as mentioned above, if you get a lower than normal number, stall dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
He obviously came off the bounce and they sometimes drop quite low when they do that.
I am concerned you skipped the dose because of the DKA/ketones. Please make sure you test foe ketones and ensure he eats well this cycle. If he’s reluctant, I would give him some cerenia or ondansetron, whatever you have, the. A bit later give an appetite stimulant…..we need to make sure he eats.
I’m not sure what your schedule is, but you can bring the next dose forward because you skipped the dose this morning….disregard this as I see you have just posted that you gave 1 unit at ??+5



What time did you give the one unit?. This is going to stuff up your schedule as you won’t be able to give the next shot foe 12 hours after the 1 unit.
I can do the new schedule from now. Shall I top up to his 2.4 ? Ie add 1.4?
 
I just gave him 1 u. I can make this his new dose time 1pm and 1am. Shall I top up to normal dose? @Bron and Sheba (GA) ?
We do not normally suggest anyone top up a dose. However because of the history of recent DKA and his appetite down a bit and the fact you have just given him the 1 unit, I think it would be OK if you just gave him the difference between the 2.4 and 1 unit already given which would be 1.4 units and make the new times 1am and 1 pm.
THIS IS ONLY ADVICE FOR KINDAGOT BECAUSE OF THE RECENT DKA AND IS NOT TO BE FOLLOWED BY ANYONE ELSE.
 
Last edited:
We do not normally suggest anyone top up a dose. However because of the history of recent DKA and his appetite down a bit, I think it would be OK if you just gave him the difference between the 2.4 and 1 unit already given which would be 1.4 units and make it and make the new times 1am and 1 pm.
THIS IS ONLY ADVICE FOR KINDAGOT BECAUSE OF THE RECENT DKA AND IS NOT TO BE FOLLOWED BY ANYONE ELSE.

Thank you Bron! Doing it now.
 
So in the SS AMPS column put +12 85, +14 178, +17 458. Then in the units column put 1 plus 1.4 unit @+5 and make that your new AMPS so you now start again with +1 etc in the SS am cycle. Does that make sense?
 
So in the SS AMPS column put +12 85, +14 178, +17 458. Then in the units column put 1 plus 1.4 unit @+5 and make that your new AMPS so you now start again with +1 etc in the SS am cycle. Does that make sense?
I have amended the SS. Got a bit confused. Had a muscle relaxer for MRI. Hopefully it makes sense. Also Husband double checked syringe doses and injection as I might be under effects of that drug!
 
You haven’t quite got the SS correctly done. You need to get rid of the line that says AMPS 85, then put the three BG numbers in the one AMPS square as I said above then that shows that the +17 is the new AMPS. Then you follow on as usual
 
Back
Top