What time did you give the one unit?. This is going to stuff up your schedule as you won’t be able to give the next shot foe 12 hours after the 1 unit.I had to go out for a hospital appointment. I came back at +5 and he was at 458. I decided to give him 1,unit. He is eating in small amounts. It's a shame I could not stall and feed and then feed the curve today.
I can do the new schedule from now. Shall I top up to his 2.4 ? Ie add 1.4?Hi Fiona, as mentioned above, if you get a lower than normal number, stall dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
He obviously came off the bounce and they sometimes drop quite low when they do that.
I am concerned you skipped the dose because of the DKA/ketones. Please make sure you test foe ketones and ensure he eats well this cycle. If he’s reluctant, I would give him some cerenia or ondansetron, whatever you have, the. A bit later give an appetite stimulant…..we need to make sure he eats.
I’m not sure what your schedule is, but you can bring the next dose forward because you skipped the dose this morning….disregard this as I see you have just posted that you gave 1 unit at ??+5
What time did you give the one unit?. This is going to stuff up your schedule as you won’t be able to give the next shot foe 12 hours after the 1 unit.
We do not normally suggest anyone top up a dose. However because of the history of recent DKA and his appetite down a bit and the fact you have just given him the 1 unit, I think it would be OK if you just gave him the difference between the 2.4 and 1 unit already given which would be 1.4 units and make the new times 1am and 1 pm.I just gave him 1 u. I can make this his new dose time 1pm and 1am. Shall I top up to normal dose? @Bron and Sheba (GA) ?
We do not normally suggest anyone top up a dose. However because of the history of recent DKA and his appetite down a bit, I think it would be OK if you just gave him the difference between the 2.4 and 1 unit already given which would be 1.4 units and make it and make the new times 1am and 1 pm.
THIS IS ONLY ADVICE FOR KINDAGOT BECAUSE OF THE RECENT DKA AND IS NOT TO BE FOLLOWED BY ANYONE ELSE.
This is only a one off and only because of the DKA and having just given the 1 unit. So the 1 unit and 1.4 units can work together giving one nadir.Thank you Bron! Doing it now.
I have amended the SS. Got a bit confused. Had a muscle relaxer for MRI. Hopefully it makes sense. Also Husband double checked syringe doses and injection as I might be under effects of that drug!So in the SS AMPS column put +12 85, +14 178, +17 458. Then in the units column put 1 plus 1.4 unit @+5 and make that your new AMPS so you now start again with +1 etc in the SS am cycle. Does that make sense?
Very sensible. I’m glad you did.Also Husband double checked syringe doses and injection as I might be under effects of that drug!
Also I have given Cerenia and mirtazapine.So in the SS AMPS column put +12 85, +14 178, +17 458. Then in the units column put 1 plus 1.4 unit @+5 and make that your new AMPS so you now start again with +1 etc in the SS am cycle. Does that make sense?