Bella’s FD journey part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi--

I'm sorry, I'm currently out of town so I haven't had a chance to do more than quick checks of the boards over the last several days. Give me a minute to review Bella's recent history.

Question: when was the last time you checked for ketones? When running high with a UTI in the picture, you want to be extra-diligent about that.
 
Hi--

I'm sorry, I'm currently out of town so I haven't had a chance to do more than quick checks of the boards over the last several days. Give me a minute to review Bella's recent history.

Question: when was the last time you checked for ketones? When running high with a UTI in the picture, you want to be extra-diligent about that.
I just checked and it was neg
 
I don't see the "HI" or 569 on your spreadsheet for today-- are you in the PM cycle now? When?

I"m guessing this is another bounce from some low-ish numbers this afternoon. As long as he seems otherwise OK (eating/drinking, and, when you get a chance, clear of ketones), there's really nothing you can do other than wait it out :(.

Hope he continues to improve re the UTI (and your other kitty, too!).
 
Just seeing this now. I've been away from home. Looks like bouncing but the UTI might also be having an effect - or possibly the meds. I'm glad you got a ketone test. How is he acting?
 
Baby’s UTI caused some high numbers, an infection can cause everything to be out of whack. Just so you keep testing for ketones in the next couple of days would be a good idea. When you can. Sleeping is probably healing or could be just wore out, high numbers, or even the meds. As long as you’re checking the bg & ketones you will be ok. You know what to do. Baby is sleeping a hunch today but it seems she goes for days & then has a crash day. You got this!
 
Those darn blacks! However, you have an almost 100 point drop between PS and +1 on this increased dose. If it's at all possible another test or two in the +4 to +6 range would be very useful info. You're nearing the dose that dropped him to lime green a while ago so some extra vigilance is in order. Is he feeling better with all the meds? Eating well? Peeing appropriately?
 
I can’t test him again till 230 when my husband gets home, I had to work today i will be gone till 7pm, do u think he will be alright I left food down OMG
 
Those darn blacks! However, you have an almost 100 point drop between PS and +1 on this increased dose. If it's at all possible another test or two in the +4 to +6 range would be very useful info. You're nearing the dose that dropped him to lime green a while ago so some extra vigilance is in order. Is he feeling better with all the meds? Eating well? Peeing appropriately?
He didn’t eat a whole lot but someone said if there BG is high they don’t eat a lot, he is peeing, do u think the meds are affecting his bg, he just acts like he doesn’t feel very good
 
Antibiotics can cause tummy upset so that could be what's making him feel "off". Try not to worry about his BG while you're away. That 2:30 PM test will be fine and you've left food. I'm sorry if I alarmed you - I don't think he'll dive into lime green.
 
Antibiotics can cause tummy upset so that could be what's making him feel "off". Try not to worry about his BG while you're away. That 2:30 PM test will be fine and you've left food. I'm sorry if I alarmed you - I don't think he'll dive into lime green.
What do you think of Young again cat food
 
What do you think of Young again cat food
I've never used it. I know that people with die hard kibble addicts feed some of it in addition to low carb wet food because it's low carb kibble. I know that in general wet food is better from the point of view of proper hydration, kidney function, etc. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein also comes in canned and kibble form - also low carb. If Bella likes what you're currently feeding him (when he's feeling good, that is) you probably don't need it. Your choice, though ...
 
I've never used it. I know that people with die hard kibble addicts feed some of it in addition to low carb wet food because it's low carb kibble. I know that in general wet food is better from the point of view of proper hydration, kidney function, etc. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein also comes in canned and kibble form - also low carb. If Bella likes what you're currently feeding him (when he's feeling good, that is) you probably don't need it. Your choice, though ...
Ok just making sure I’m giving him what’s best for him, you would be proud of what I did with all my anxious energy yesterday, are we allowed to post pictures on our threads??
 
Ok just making sure I’m giving him what’s best for him, you would be proud of what I did with all my anxious energy yesterday, are we allowed to post pictures on our threads??
Yes, absolutely! We like pictures. Some people choose to show their face, some choose not too. Kitty faces always welcome! :smuggrin:
 
Yes, absolutely! We like pictures. Some people choose to show their face, some choose not too. Kitty faces always welcome! :smuggrin:
0E0AE974-277A-43F5-B861-BE12BDD90358.jpeg

I moved shelves around, got out some carpet had in the shed and made a cat wall for the cats to lay or sit on, I had a shelf behind the love seat, that’s the one bella is sitting on in his profile pic so I thought why it a whole wall
 
View attachment 34552
I moved shelves around, got out some carpet had in the shed and made a cat wall for the cats to lay or sit on, I had a shelf behind the love seat, that’s the one bella is sitting on in his profile pic so I thought why it a whole wall
This is fantastic!! My kitties would love something like this! :D:D:D I see that shelf full of cat toys near the floor. :smuggrin: Mine have a basket full near their cat furniture. I have a tower and two story condo in front of my living room window. They spend a lot of time there. Love your kitty themed wall decorations too.
 
@Bellasmom - your cat wall is amazing! Love it! Baby has her own box with tissue paper, long basket on legs with her blankets. But nothing high anymore... great idea! I ordered the YA chicken treats & she loved them for after testing treats. But not today! I don’t know what happened but she’s still sitting by her old temptations drawer looking up. I don’t know what to try next short if cooking her a chicken! I’m not even sure she’d take that over her old beloved treats?!? The freeze dried chicken has no smell or not enough to even make her stop & search for it! Don’t know what to do!
Baby’s number are not going down much at the end of her cycle. Nadir is good but I feel like you - afraid to leap up that she’ll go too low! Help! Sorry to chime in on your thread! Take a pic of cats in the wall when they get there! I’d love to see that!
 
@Bellasmom - your cat wall is amazing! Love it! Baby has her own box with tissue paper, long basket on legs with her blankets. But nothing high anymore... great idea! I ordered the YA chicken treats & she loved them for after testing treats. But not today! I don’t know what happened but she’s still sitting by her old temptations drawer looking up. I don’t know what to try next short if cooking her a chicken! I’m not even sure she’d take that over her old beloved treats?!? The freeze dried chicken has no smell or not enough to even make her stop & search for it! Don’t know what to do!
Baby’s number are not going down much at the end of her cycle. Nadir is good but I feel like you - afraid to leap up that she’ll go too low! Help! Sorry to chime in on your thread! Take a pic of cats in the wall when they get there! I’d love to see that!
Maybe try some stinkier freeze dried fish treats, Becky? Some people buy bonito flakes (tuna) from Asian grocery stores and you can find freeze dried shrimp and salmon in some pet stores. All very stinky.
 
Lol ok she’s normally a land lover type but it’s worth a try. I wonder if Walmart has them? If not therers a little health market near by & I bet they would carry them! She loves stinky cheese... stinkier the better! Thanks Kris!
 
When is BG dangerously high and what happens
If it's only a few very high numbers very little happens. If it's very high for many days or longer it increases the risk of ketones developing and the kitty will feel ill. That can lead to lack of appetite and that, too, increases ketone risk.
 
If it's only a few very high numbers very little happens. If it's very high for many days or longer it increases the risk of ketones developing and the kitty will feel ill. That can lead to lack of appetite and that, too, increases ketone risk.
490 +12, here we go again, 1.75 now after he eats or wait an hr
 
We were lower this am at 411, gave 1.75 and he seems to be feeling better this am, he ate better, can’t retest till 230
 
Here's something for you to think about - no rush needed: it's possible that Novolin is causing the reds and blacks on your spreadsheet because of the way it works. It hits fast, drops BG quickly and can drop it quite low if the dose is the slightest bit too high. In other words, it's aggressive in its action. That can be the reason why Bella's curve is deep - eg., red to green to red or red to blue to red.

Has Bella been on Novolin right from diagnosis? What was your vet's explanation for prescribing that particular insulin? I know it's economical to use and that can certainly be an important factor. He obviously responds to it because you have blues and greens on your spreadsheet. It's the reds and blacks at PS I'm looking at more. It's possible that a slower acting, gentler insulin might help you get those PSs down and flatten out his curve.

If you're interested, I can tell you what I know about ProZinc, Lantus and Levemir. I've used all three for Teasel. :)
 
Here's something for you to think about - no rush needed: it's possible that Novolin is causing the reds and blacks on your spreadsheet because of the way it works. It hits fast, drops BG quickly and can drop it quite low if the dose is the slightest bit too high. In other words, it's aggressive in its action. That can be the reason why Bella's curve is deep - eg., red to green to red or red to blue to red.

Has Bella been on Novolin right from diagnosis? What was your vet's explanation for prescribing that particular insulin? I know it's economical to use and that can certainly be an important factor. He obviously responds to it because you have blues and greens on your spreadsheet. It's the reds and blacks at PS I'm looking at more. It's possible that a slower acting, gentler insulin might help you get those PSs down and flatten out his curve.

If you're interested, I can tell you what I know about ProZinc, Lantus and Levemir. I've used all three for Teasel. :)

He has been on it since beginning, am I able to get it without script like I can the Novolin and are the other ones expensive
 
Here's something for you to think about - no rush needed: it's possible that Novolin is causing the reds and blacks on your spreadsheet because of the way it works. It hits fast, drops BG quickly and can drop it quite low if the dose is the slightest bit too high. In other words, it's aggressive in its action. That can be the reason why Bella's curve is deep - eg., red to green to red or red to blue to red.

Has Bella been on Novolin right from diagnosis? What was your vet's explanation for prescribing that particular insulin? I know it's economical to use and that can certainly be an important factor. He obviously responds to it because you have blues and greens on your spreadsheet. It's the reds and blacks at PS I'm looking at more. It's possible that a slower acting, gentler insulin might help you get those PSs down and flatten out his curve.

If you're interested, I can tell you what I know about ProZinc, Lantus and Levemir. I've used all three for Teasel. :)
I looked and this is what I can get OTC
B4428D59-43D3-472B-B57A-ABBF76AD1E07.jpeg
 
ProZinc is a veterinary insulin for cats so it has to be bought through your vet or from an online pet pharmacy. It's very expensive (about $100+ for a 10 mL vial) and is less concentrated than Novolin (U40) so you'd go through it faster. It's action is similar to Novolin but slower and gentler. A 10 mL vial contains 400 units so the cost per unit is about $100/400 = $0.25 (25¢) per unit. If you use 4 u per day on average (2 u AM and 2 u PM) a vial should last 400/4 = 100 days max. Breaks down to about $30 a month at about 4 u per day.

Lantus is a prescription human insulin that works very well in many cats, is very slow and gentle in its action and can flatten out BG numbers well. It's extremely expensive in the US ($300+ per 10 mL vial) but is as concentrated as Novolin (U100). Many US people on FDMB get their vet to fax a script to a reputable Canadian online pharmacy, Marks Marine Pharmacy, in Vancouver. They ship to many US users. The cost for a 5 pack of 3 mL cartridges, a total of 15 mL of insulin, including shipping, is around $180 US - a little over half the price. However the cost per unit isn't too bad when you work it out. That 15 mL of Lantus gives you a total of 1500 units and that means a cost of $180/1500 = $0.12 (12¢) per unit. If you use an average of 4 u per day that 1500 units should last 1500/4 = 375 days or about a year. You won't waste any because each cartridge is small enough to be used to the last drop and the rest of the pack is good in the fridge until expiry, about 2 years down the line usually. So the cost breaks down to about $15 a month if you use about 4 u per day on average.

By contrast, Novolin N is OTC and is about $25 per 10 mL vial, right? That's 1000 units at a cost of $25/1000 = $0.025 (2.5¢) per unit. Using about 4 u per day it'll last 1000/4 = 250 days or over 8 months. However, it probably should be discarded well before that because it'll lose its potency.

There's no doubt that Novolin N is the most economical and it might be what your vet prefers. Levemir is similar to Lantus in cost and works in a similar way. If you decide down the line you want to try something else you could ask your vet about Lantus.
 
I called vet about new insulin and he said I would have to bring him in and let him stay there a cpl days he won’t just give me a script, I can’t financially do it right now, just had a vet bill and trying to get that one pd first
 
I called vet about new insulin and he said I would have to bring him in and let him stay there a cpl days he won’t just give me a script, I can’t financially do it right now, just had a vet bill and trying to get that one pd first
You have to do what works for you financially. I'm not sure why your vet wants Bella there for a few days though ... o_O When Teasel was diagnosed, I was sent home with some Lantus and told to do a curve at home after a week and email the data to my vet. Every vet is different.
 
You have to do what works for you financially. I'm not sure why your vet wants Bella there for a few days though ... o_O When Teasel was diagnosed, I was sent home with some Lantus and told to do a curve at home after a week and email the data to my vet. Every vet is different.
When he was diagnosed they kept him for several days
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top